警告: 由于当前的COVID-19公共卫生危机,许多RIPTA办事处和运输中心都关闭了。 详细>>

无障碍交通咨询委员会

罗德岛公共交通管理局的无障碍交通咨询委员会(ATAC)

ATAC最初成立于1991年,旨在满足《美国联邦残障人士法案》(ADA)的要求,以使残疾人参与针对罗德岛公共交通管理局(RIPTA)的ADA辅助辅助公交计划的规划过程。 

在完全满足ADA的过境要求之后,将ATAC改组为RIPTA的咨询委员会,为所有运输服务的可及性以及影响残疾人的其他运输相关问题提供意见。 

ATAC的大多数成员都是使用固定路线和/或辅助运输服务的残疾人,自2001年以来,联合主席一直是RIPTA的残疾人顾客。 ATAC的成员还包括为残疾人服务的州,社区和倡导组织的代表。

根据罗德岛州一般法第39-18-4(7)条,ATAC符合RIPTA的要求,即“建立由委员会服务的主要使用者/残疾人组成的咨询委员会,以协助实施部分。” ATAC成员经常与州长,大会成员和其他政府官员举行会议,以支持RIPTA服务的重要性。

ATAC在每个月的第一个星期四下午4点开会,但有一些例外。 ATAC的输入和反馈对RIPTA至关重要,相互尊重和富有成效的工作关系已大大改善了向罗德岛残障人士的运输服务。

任何有残疾或代表与残疾问题有关的组织的人都可以成为ATAC成员。 成员每年建立两次:在年度的第一次ATAC会议和年度的第六次会议。 要有资格在ATAC会议中投票,必须有一个人出席了之前5场ATAC会议中的12场。

通过分享
复制链接

ALERT: Due to the current COVID-19 public health crisis, many RIPTA Offices and transit centers are closed. Details >>

Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee

The Rhode Island Public Transit Authority’s Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee (ATAC)

The ATAC was originally formed in 1991 to meet the requirement of the Federal Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) to involve persons with disabilities in the planning process for the ADA Complementary Paratransit Plan for the Rhode Island Public Transit Authority (RIPTA). 

After the ADA paratransit requirements were fully implemented, the ATAC was reinvented as an advisory committee to RIPTA, providing input on the accessibility of all transportation services and other transportation-related issues affecting persons with disabilities. 

The majority of ATAC members are persons with disabilities who use fixed-route and/or paratransit services, and since 2001 the co-chairs have been RIPTA customers with disabilities.  The ATAC members also include representatives of State, community-based, and advocacy organizations serving people with disabilities.

In accord with Rhode Island General Law Section 39-18-4(7), the ATAC fulfills RIPTA’s requirement to “establish an advisory committee comprised of seniors/persons with disabilities who are constituent users of the authority’s services to assist in the implementation of this section.”   ATAC members have met frequently with the Governor, members of the General Assembly, and other public officials in support of the importance of RIPTA’s services.

The ATAC meets on the first Thursday of each month at 4 PM with some exceptions. The ATAC’s input and feedback is important to RIPTA, and the mutually respectful and productive working relationship has resulted in many significant improvements in transportation services to Rhode Islanders with disabilities.

Any person who has a disability or who represents an organization concerned with disability issues can be an ATAC member. Membership is established 2 times in non-election years and 3 times in election years: at the first ATAC meeting of the year and the sixth meeting of the year, as well at the meeting immediately preceding biennial officer elections. To be eligible to vote in an ATAC meeting, a person must have attended 5 of the previous 12 ATAC meetings.

Share via
Copy link