警告: 由于当前的COVID-19公共卫生危机,许多RIPTA办事处和运输中心都关闭了。 详细>>

拟建的多伦斯街交通中心

请查看更新
最后更新:10 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

重要更新:麦基州长宣布发布全国范围的意向书(“REOI”)。 REOI 旨在利用私人开发商的专业知识,收集大胆、创新的想法,指导新交通中心的建设和运营。

你可以阅读 REOI在这里

您可以阅读麦基州长的新闻 在这里发布: 

为不断发展的 RIPTA 提出的建议:多伦斯街交通中心

罗德岛公共交通管理局 (RIPTA) 和罗德岛交通部 (RIDOT) 继续致力于在多兰斯街开发新的交通中心。 RIPTA 和 RIDOT 为公众举行了虚拟和面对面的会议,以提交他们对这一新交通设施开发的意见。 

点击这里 查看演示文稿的 PDF。

点击这里 查看会议记录。

该计划要求 RIPTA 和 RIDOT 在 Dorrance 街开发一个新的主要交通中心,将 RIPTA 服务整合到一个主要位置。

新的中转中心将:

  • 在一个地点为所有乘客提供接送服务
  • 充分利用新建的 市区公交连接器
  • 通过为乘客提供更好、更丰富的便利设施来改善乘客体验
  • 为过境活动创造专属空间,补充活动增强但不与过境相冲突
  • 允许交通系统的发展,如 Transit Forward RI 2040 总体规划
Dorrance-Street-Transit-Center-Presentation2

订阅以接收有关此项目的更新 

公开会议

公开会议于 24 年 8 月 21 日、2022 月 XNUMX 日和 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日举行。 

单击此处查看演示文稿的录音。

常见问题

肯尼迪广场

RIPTA 是一家成长中的机构,专注于改善公交服务,包括增加路线频率和扩大我们的运营时间。 再加上 RIPTA 已经超过肯尼迪广场的事实,由于当前空间的挑战,我们无法在工作日高峰时段提供任何额外服务。 我们的乘客应该得到更好的服务、更多的便利设施、夜间不需要步行穿过公园的巴士连接、宽敞的室内等候区——这些都是 RIPTA 在肯尼迪广场无法提供的。

此外,RIPTA 不拥有坚尼地广场的财产; 我们是租户。 在普罗维登斯市中心拥有我们自己的财产的控制权是当局从未有过的。 有了这些,RIPTA 就有能力为过境乘客建立更好的基础设施。 这是推动我们的系统向前发展的真正机会。

是的。 RIPTA 将维持 5 分钟一班发往肯尼迪广场 市区公交连接器 (DTC)。

公共公园和滑冰中心中间的交通中心是一种奇怪的动态,它在不同的用途之间造成了紧张。 公共公园鼓励人们在绿色空间中闲逛。 作为一家交通机构,RIPTA 有兴趣让人们进出城市到达目的地。 RIPTA 不想创造一个污名化人们的空间。 我们知道有一个高度脆弱的人群依赖交通出行; 我们不想对他们产生负面影响。 当我们过渡到一个新的中转中心时,RIPTA 致力于保护这些人口。 这包括明确的沟通和外展工作,以及在整个项目中与社会服务提供者进行协调。

没有 金额无关紧要——肯尼迪广场最终是一个公共公园,改善广场内交通的机会有限。 这严重限制了 RIPTA 在肯尼迪广场扩大交通的能力; 可用的运输空间有限。 此外,RIPTA 不拥有坚尼地广场的财产; 我们是租户。 RIPTA 不拥有或无权使用超出租赁条款的空间。

没有 2014 年,选民批准了 35 万美元的债券,以改善交通基础设施。 RIPTA 提出新的交通中心选址的主要动机是改善交通网络并为增长做准备。 RIPTA 一直在讨论从肯尼迪广场搬出并为我们的乘客建造一个更好的中转中心的问题。

设施

恒温室内等候区——是的

有盖室外等候区——是的

手机/笔记本电脑充电站 – 是

无障碍卫生间——是的

改进的寻路——是的

座位——是的

实时巴士信息 – 是

自动售票机 - 是

安全的自行车停车/存放处——是的

自行车维修站 - 是

户外等候区的加热灯 - 是的

公共接入 WiFi – 是

自行车充电站——是的

儿童游乐设施——被视为项目开发的一部分

哺乳室——被视为项目开发的一部分

RIPTA 将探索纳入社会服务资源的可行性。

没有 RIPTA 致力于防止重要的乘客设施在该项目之外进行价值工程。

多伦斯街中转中心

是的。 RIPTA 将拥有中转中心的一部分,以便我们控制自己的财产,并能够确保为乘客提供高水平和连续性的服务。

2014 年,选民批准了一项 35 万美元的公共交通枢纽基础设施债券,允许罗德岛州资助全州公共交通枢纽基础设施的改进和翻新。 除此之外,RIPTA 还需要额外的资金来完成中转中心。

RIPTA 可以利用这些资金作为州匹配来申请其他联邦拨款机会。

此外,公私合作伙伴关系将使 RIPTA 能够利用扩大的私人资本机会。 

RIPTA 将致力于设计一栋建筑及其周围的环境,在项目推进时优先考虑安全。 这包括充足的照明、战略性放置的紧急呼叫箱、紧急疏散计划和对行人安全的重视。 我们希望创建一个不需要骑手穿过许多街道的交通中心。 乘客将能够在尽可能安全和可控的环境中换乘。

RIPTA 对道路网络没有管辖权,但 RIPTA 将与普罗维登斯市和 RIDOT 协调努力实现这一目标。

肯尼迪广场是一个广阔的空间——RIPTA 运营的广场包括巴士候车亭、伯恩赛德公园旁边的区域和 Exchange Terrace 上的巴士站。 没有办法将所有这些东西整合到一个区域中——那里有一个公园和溜冰场。 你不能让这个足迹更小。 但是,RIPTA 可以更适合更小的占地面积,因为我们不必处理不可移动的现有资产; 更多可以通过设计放入更小的空间。 RIPTA 正在与 RIDOT 及其规划团队合作,以确保我们能够适应我们在这里提出的建议。 我们有信心在这个拟建地点有足够的空间来适应未来的交通增长。

是的。 RIPTA 致力于提供清晰、易于访问的标牌。

该大楼将在运输服务时间内开放,并将有客户服务代表可用。

RIPTA 最近进行了一项乘客调查,调查了乘客目的地的起点和终点。 RIPTA 将在我们完成此过程时分析这些数据。 目标是减少人们去肯尼迪广场以外的地方时的步行距离。

火车和州际连接

是的。 DTC 和其他精选路线将直接从这个新的交通中心开往火车站。 它将以对乘客有意义的方式进行协调。

RIPTA 将与 RIDOT 交通工程师合作,确保该项目不会在普罗维登斯市中心造成僵局。

我们预计该设施没有足够的空间来容纳州际长途汽车,但将在设计过程中进行探索。 乘客可以乘坐 27、28 或 92 路前往 RI 会议中心进行此连接。

是的。 RIPTA 为在普罗维登斯车站建设一个中转中心投入了大量精力。 不幸的是,该空间的开发和可用性极为有限。

公私合作伙伴关系 (P3)

公私合作是一种交付项目的方式,它允许公共机构 (RIPTA) 直接与私人开发商协调,以建造设施并提供设施的长期运营和维护。 这种安排使 RIPTA 可以专注于它最擅长的事情——提供交通服务——同时确保建筑物保持在高水平。 

是的,肯尼迪广场是混合用途空间。 主要区别在于肯尼迪广场中间有一个历史悠久的公园。 公共汽车站不方便到达——乘客必须穿过 Exchange Terrace 或华盛顿街或步行穿过公园。 在新的交通中心,餐厅和零售店将围绕交通服务进行设计。 过境是第一位的。 其他一切都将位于同一地点。

RIPTA 意识到需要通过该项目的设计来考虑和减轻风险。 RIPTA 将引入正确的专业知识来创建有益的安排,其中包括对可访问性、劳动力、日常维护、零售管理等方面的承诺。

P3 将为 RIPTA 提供私人资本以及私营部门合作伙伴的技能和资产,这有助于带来额外的资源和收入,以便 RIPTA 能够建立其乘客应得的中转中心。

RIPTA 致力于包括负担得起的住房。 随着项目的发展,RIPTA 将继续与专门从事住房的合作机构和团体合作,以确保住房要素符合该领域的最佳实践。

交通总体规划 (TMP)

TMP 要求增加服务的频率和跨度、新的交通方式和更好的连通性。 该设施的设计将考虑所有这些目标。

. RIPTA 在其公交总体规划外展期间听到的一个反复出现的主题是,乘客不想在没有意义的情况下转移到市中心。 RIPTA 正在考虑实施跨城镇路线。 

过渡期

是的。  RIPTA 致力于为所有乘客——尤其是弱势乘客——提供无缝过渡。 迄今为止,RIPTA 已就该项目与我们的无障碍交通咨询委员会 (ATAC) 进行了协商,并将继续与他们接触并咨询尽可能多的团体,以使这一过渡顺利进行。

一旦中转中心开放,RIPTA 将计划进行广泛的外展活动。 这包括帮助乘客找到他们的巴士站位置和使用便利设施。 

下一步

RIPTA 目前正致力于让专家参与 P3 开发。 一旦项目团队成立,RIPTA 将在时间表上进行更新。 目前估计这一过程至少需要 3 年时间。

这将随着 RIPTA 提供更多信息而更新。

是的。 这是一个持续的对话。 RIPTA 希望确保骑手和利益相关者都是该项目的积极参与者。 RIPTA 将创建一个骑手咨询委员会,以确保在开发过程中听取骑手的反馈。 此外,RIPTA 将继续参与其 无障碍交通咨询委员会 (ATAC),还将与州长的残疾委员会协调。 随着项目的推进,公众也将继续有机会获得反馈。

多伦斯街交通中心概念路线重新设计

请参阅往返拟议中转中心的拟议巴士路线。

未来交通中心的初步效果图

视频 02 年 24 月 22 日关于拟议中转中心的公开会议的录音

RIPTA Dorrance Street REOI 行业事件记录

复制链接

ALERT: Due to the current COVID-19 public health crisis, many RIPTA Offices and transit centers are closed. Details >>

Proposed Dorrance Street Transit Center

PLEASE CHECK BACK FOR UPDATES
LAST UPDATE: MAY 12, 2022

IMPORTANT UPDATE:  Gov. McKee has announced the publication of a nationwide Request for Expressions of Interest (“REOI”).  The REOI is designed to tap the expertise of private developers to gather bold, innovative ideas that will guide the construction and operations of the new Transit Center.

You can read the REOI here

You can read Governor McKee’s press release here: 

A Proposal for A Growing RIPTA: Dorrance Street Transit Center

The Rhode Island Public Transit Authority (RIPTA) and the Rhode Island Department of Transportation (RIDOT) continue to work on the development of a new transit center on Dorrance Street. RIPTA and RIDOT held virtual and in-person meetings for the public to submit their input on the development of this new transit facility. 

Click here to view a PDF of the presentation.

Click here to view a recording of the meeting.

The plan calls for RIPTA and RIDOT to develop a new primary transit center on Dorrance Street that consolidates RIPTA service to a single primary location.

The new transit center would:

  • Maintain transfers for all passengers in a single location
  • Take advantage of the newly constructed Downtown Transit Connector
  • Improve passenger experience through nicer, more abundant amenities for riders
  • Create an exclusive space for transit activities with supplemental activities that enhance, but do not conflict with transit
  • Allow for growth of the transit system as outlined in the Transit Forward RI 2040 Master Plan
Dorrance-Street-Transit-Center-Presentation2

Subscribe to receive updates on this project 

Public Meeting

Public Meetings were held on February 24, March 8 and March 21, 2022. 

Click here to view a recording of the presentation.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

KENNEDY PLAZA

RIPTA is a growing agency that is focused on improving bus service, including adding frequency to routes and expanding our hours of operations.  When combined with the fact that RIPTA has outgrown Kennedy Plaza, we cannot provide any additional service during weekday peak hours because of the challenges of the current space. Our passengers deserve improved service, more amenities, bus connections that do not require walking through a park at night, a spacious indoor waiting area – things RIPTA cannot offer in Kennedy Plaza.

Additionally, RIPTA does not own property in Kennedy Plaza; we are a tenant. Having control of our own property in downtown Providence is something the Authority has never had. Having that would give RIPTA the ability to build better infrastructure for transit passengers.  This is a real opportunity to move our system forward.

Yes. RIPTA will maintain 5-minute frequency to Kennedy Plaza through the Downtown Transit Connector (DTC).

A transit center in the middle of a public park and skating center is an odd dynamic that has created tension between the varying uses. A public park encourages people to hang out in green space.  As a transit agency, RIPTA is interested in getting people in and out of the city to their destinations. RIPTA does not want to create a space that stigmatizes people. We understand that there is a highly vulnerable population that relies on transit to get around; we do not want to negatively affect them.  RIPTA is committed to protecting this population as we transition to a new transit center. This includes clear communication and outreach efforts, as well as coordinating with social service providers throughout this project.

No. The dollar amount does not matter – Kennedy Plaza is ultimately a public park with limited opportunities to improve transit within the plaza.  This severely limits RIPTA’s ability to expand transit in Kennedy Plaza; there is a limited amount of available transit space.   Additionally, RIPTA does not own property in Kennedy Plaza; we are a tenant. RIPTA does not own or have a right to that space beyond the terms of the lease.

No. In 2014, voters approved a $35M bond to improve transit infrastructure.  RIPTA’s primary motivation for proposing a new transit center location is to improve the transit network and to prepare for growth. RIPTA has always discussed some level of moving out of Kennedy Plaza and building a better transit center for our passengers.

AMENITIES

Climate controlled indoor waiting area – Yes

Covered outdoor waiting area – Yes

Cell phone/ laptop charging stations – Yes

Accessible restrooms – Yes

Improved wayfinding – Yes

Seating – Yes

Real-time bus information – Yes

Fare vending machine – Yes

Secure parking/storage for bicycles – Yes

Bicycle repair station – Yes

Heat lamps for outdoor waiting areas – Yes

Public access to WiFi – Yes

Electric charging stations for bicycles – Yes

Kid’s play facilities – to be considered as part of project development

Lactation room – to be considered as part of project development

RIPTA will explore how feasible it would be to include social service resources.

No. RIPTA is committed to keeping important passenger amenities from being value-engineered out of this project.

DORRANCE ST. TRANSIT CENTER

Yes. RIPTA will own a portion of the transit center so that we have control over our own property and will be able to ensure a high level and continuity of service to our passengers.

In 2014, voters approved a $35M mass transit hub infrastructure bond that would allow the State of Rhode Island to fund enhancements and renovations to mass transit hub infrastructure throughout the state. RIPTA will need additional monies besides this to complete the transit center.

RIPTA can utilize these funds as a state match to apply for other federal grant opportunities.

In addition, a public-private partnership will enable RIPTA to tap into expanded private capital opportunities. 

RIPTA will work on designing a building – and the environment around it – that prioritizes safety as the project moves forward. This includes adequate lighting, strategically placed emergency callboxes, an emergency evacuation plan and an emphasis on pedestrian safety. We want to create a transit center that does not require riders to cross many streets. Passengers will be able to transfer in an environment that is as safe and controlled as possible.

RIPTA does not have jurisdiction over the road network, but RIPTA will coordinate with the City of Providence and RIDOT to work towards this.

Kennedy Plaza is a sprawling space – there is the plaza proper that RIPTA operates which includes bus shelters, the area next to Burnside Park and the bus stops on Exchange Terrace. There is no way to consolidate all of those things into that one area – there is a public park and skating rink there. You cannot make that footprint smaller. However, RIPTA can fit more into a smaller footprint because we do not have to work around unmovable existing assets; more can fit into a smaller space by design. RIPTA is working with RIDOT and its planning team to ensure that we can fit into what we are proposing here. We are confident there is enough space at this proposed site to accommodate future transit growth.

Yes. RIPTA is committed to clear, accessible signage.

The building will be open during transit service hours, and will have customer service representatives available.

RIPTA recently conducted a rider survey that looked at the beginning and ending of passengers’ destinations. RIPTA will analyze that data as we go through this process. The goal is to minimize the walk distances for people if they are going somewhere other than Kennedy Plaza.

TRAIN AND INTERSTATE CONNECTIONS

Yes. The DTC, and other select routes, will run directly from this new transit center to the train station. It will be coordinated in a way that makes sense for passengers.

RIPTA will work with RIDOT traffic engineers to make sure this project does not create gridlock in downtown Providence.

We do not anticipate there being sufficient space to accommodate interstate coach buses at this facility, but it will be explored during the design process. Passengers can ride Routes 27, 28 or 92 to the RI Convention Center to make this connection.

Yes. RIPTA put a lot of effort into looking at building a transit center at Providence Station. Unfortunately, the development and usability for that space is extremely limited.

PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIPS (P3)

A Public-Private Partnership is a way to deliver a project that allows a public agency (RIPTA) to coordinate directly with a private developer to both construct the facility and provide for the long-term operations and maintenance of the facility.  This arrangement allows RIPTA to focus on what it does best – providing transit service – while ensuring that the building is maintained at a high level. 

Yes, Kennedy Plaza is mixed-use space.  The primary difference is that there is a historic public park in the middle of Kennedy Plaza. Bus stops are not convenient to get to – passengers have to cross Exchange Terrace or Washington Street or walk through the park. In the new transit center, restaurants and retail will be designed around transit services. Transit comes first. Everything else would be co-located.

RIPTA is aware that there are risks that need to be considered and mitigated through the design of this project. RIPTA will bring in the right expertise to create a beneficial arrangement, which includes commitments for accessibility, workforce, daily maintenance, retail management and more.

A P3 would provide RIPTA with access to private capital, as well as the private-sector partner’s skills and assets, that can help bring additional resources and revenue so that RIPTA can build the transit center that its passengers deserve.

RIPTA is committed to including housing that will be affordable.  As the project develops, RIPTA will continue working with partner agencies and groups that specialize in housing to ensure the housing element is consistent with best practices in that area.

TRANSIT MASTER PLAN (TMP)

The TMP calls for increased frequency and span of service, new modes of transportation, and better connectivity. This facility will be designed will all of those goals in mind.

Yes. A recurrent theme RIPTA heard during outreach for its Transit Master Plan was that passengers do not want to transfer downtown when it does not make sense to. RIPTA is looking into implementing cross-town routes. 

TRANSITION PERIOD

Yes.  RIPTA is committed to making this a seamless transition for all passengers – especially vulnerable riders. RIPTA has consulted with our Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee (ATAC) on this project to date and will continue to engage them and consult as many groups as possible to make this transition a smooth one.

RIPTA will plan for extensive outreach once the transit center is open. This includes helping passengers find their bus stop location and access amenities. 

NEXT STEPS

RIPTA is currently working on engaging experts in P3 development.  Once the project team has been developed, RIPTA will have updates on the timeline.  Current estimates have this process taking no less than 3 years.

This will be updated as RIPTA has more information available.

Yes. This is an ongoing dialogue. RIPTA wants to make sure that both riders and stakeholders are active participants in this project. RIPTA will create a rider advisory council to ensure that rider feedback is heard through the development process.  Additionally, RIPTA will continue to engage its Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee (ATAC) and will also coordinate with the Governor’s Commission on Disabilities. As the project moves ahead, there will be continued opportunity for feedback for the general public as well.

Dorrance Street Transit Center Conceptual Route Redesign

See the proposed bus routing to and from the proposed transit center.

Initial Renderings of Future Transit Center

Video recording of 02/24/22 Public Meeting on Proposed Transit Center

Copy link