Service Alert: Westbound Washington Bridge Closing Details >>

CEO & Board of Directors

Scott Avedisian

Scott Avedisian became Chief Executive Officer of the Rhode Island Public Transit Authority in June 2018 after serving as Mayor of the City of Warwick for 18 years and also serving four years as Chairman of RIPTA’s Board of Directors.  His tenure in Warwick was highlighted with projects that showed his commitment to good government and public service – a commitment that continues with his work at the helm of RIPTA.

As RIPTA’s CEO, Scott Avedisian is passionate about the importance of public transportation to our state, our businesses, our environment and our citizens. He is committed to RIPTA’s passengers and to exploring new initiatives and service options for transit.  He is leading the Authority’s green energy efforts, including its pilot program with zero-emission electric buses and the installation of solar panels on newer buses to improve battery life and battery performance.

Under his leadership, RIPTA is working diligently to grow transit use in Rhode Island and to pursue more partnerships with educational institutions, businesses and the tourism industry.  At the same time, he is looking at creative ways to build better connections for our regular riders.   “Better transit means a better future for our state,” he has said.  “You can’t have a world-class economy without a world-class transit system.”

Scott Avedisian
Chief Executive Officer
Rhode Island Public Transit Authority
705 Elmwood Ave.
Providence, RI 02907

Email care of:

To contact board members please email in care of:

Peter Alviti
Board Chairman Peter Alviti (Director of DOT)
Robert Kells
Senator Robert Kells, Vice Chair
Normand Benoit
Board Member Normand Benoit
Board Member Marcy Reyes
Board Member Heather Schey
Board Member James Leach
Board Member Patrick Crowley
Board Member James Lombardi
Board Member Vincent Masino

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap