服务警报:华盛顿大桥西行线关闭 详细>>

东侧过境隧道工程

RIPTA 正在改善东侧过境隧道!

东区过境隧道是连接普罗维登斯市中心和肯尼迪广场与东区及其他地区的历史性交通基础设施的重要组成部分。 隧道建于 1914 年,用于帮助以前的电车线路攀登学院山。 隧道入口附近的许多建筑物,以及巴士站的位置和北大街入口处的避难所结构,多年来都没有改变。

2022 年 XNUMX 月,位于北大街的隧道入口,设有历史庇护所。
北大街的隧道入口,设有避难所。 Sumber: 1948 年以前。 罗德岛设计学院东侧隧道。 普罗维登斯公共图书馆。
2022 年 XNUMX 月,塞耶街的隧道入口。
1938 年,塞耶街的隧道入口和周围环境。 Sumber: 1938.Thayer Street – 隧道东侧. 普罗维登斯公共图书馆。

今天,东侧隧道继续支持横跨普罗维登斯的东西交通走廊,在专用车道上提供直达巴士旅行。 随着 RIPTA 努力进一步扩展和改进服务,以实现我们在 转运向前RI 2040 计划,我们的便利设施和基础设施需要能够支持更多的乘客和更多的公共汽车。

RIPTA 乘客在等车时应该得到舒适、安全和方便的便利设施。 在这个项目中,RIPTA 旨在制定概念计划,以改善隧道两端的乘客体验,包括对巴士站位置和更好的设施(如标牌、候车亭和照明)以及 ADA 可访问性的建议。 RIPTA 还将尊重隧道的历史性质及其在社区中的位置,利用该项目作为场所营造的机会。 为此,我们与各种历史保护组织、社区和商业组织以及存在于其之上和周围的高等教育机构进行了接触。

项目更新

这个概念规划过程现已完成。 谢谢您的意见! RIPTA 主持了八次利益相关者会议、一次公开会议,并在三个社区小组会议上进行了介绍。 我们通过电子邮件和社交媒体收到了评论,我们的在线调查收到了 100 多条回复。 我们还与我们的巴士运营商、主管和服务规划人员进行了内部交谈,以了解九种不同设计的具体可操作性问题和机遇。

根据我们收到的意见,并根据我们的安全性、可达性和乘客舒适度的项目目标,RIPTA 为每个隧道入口选择了一个首选设计。

塞耶街

塞耶街效果图

Thayer St 高架地图   

北大街

主街效果图

主街架空

RIPTA 的项目管理团队将监督该项目的后续步骤,包括全面设计和施工。 此过程将涉及与我们的利益相关者的持续联系,并与市政府和 RIDOT 合作以获得批准和许可。

RIPTA 对该项目进行全面设计的预计时间表是 2023 年秋季,施工将在 2024 年夏季进行。

更多问题可以直接联系 Julia Evelyn jevelyn@ripta.com.

通过分享
复制链接
专利所有者 社交快照

ALERT: Impacted Providence School Service. Details >>

East Side Transit Tunnel Project

RIPTA is improving the East Side Transit Tunnel!

The East Side Transit Tunnel is a critical piece of historic transit infrastructure connecting downtown Providence and Kennedy Plaza to the East Side and beyond. The Tunnel was built in 1914 to aid the former trolley lines in climbing College Hill. Many of the buildings adjacent to the Tunnel entrances, as well as the locations of the bus stops and the shelter structure at the North Main Street entrance, have not changed in many years.

Tunnel entrance on North Main Street with historic shelter, July 2022.
Tunnel entrance on North Main Street with shelter. Source: Pre-1948. East Side tunnel, Rhode Island School of Design. Providence Public Library.
Tunnel entrance on Thayer Street, July 2022.
Tunnel entrance and surroundings on Thayer Street, 1938. Source: 1938.Thayer Street – East Side of Tunnel. Providence Public Library.

Today, the East Side Tunnel continues to support an East-West transit corridor across Providence, providing direct bus travel on dedicated lanes. As RIPTA works to further expand and improve service to meet goals set in our Transit Forward RI 2040 plan, our amenities and infrastructure need to be able to support more riders and more buses.

RIPTA riders deserve comfortable, safe, and accessible amenities while waiting for the bus. In this project, RIPTA aims to create conceptual plans to improve the passenger experience on both ends of the Tunnel, including recommendations for bus stop locations and better amenities such as signage, shelters, and lighting – as well as ADA accessibility. RIPTA will also honor the historic nature of the Tunnel and its location in the community, using this project as an opportunity for placemaking. To this end, we have engaged with a variety of historic preservation organizations, neighborhood and business organizations, and the higher educational institutions that exist over and around it.

Project Updates

This conceptual planning process is now complete. Thank you for your input! RIPTA hosted eight stakeholder meetings, one public meeting, and presented at three neighborhood group meetings. We received comments via email and social media and had over 100 responses to our online survey. We also spoke internally with our bus operators, supervisors, and service planners to understand the specific operability concerns and opportunities of the nine different designs.

Based on the input we received and in keeping with our project goals of safety, accessibility, and passenger comfort, RIPTA has selected a preferred design for each tunnel entrance.

Thayer St

Thayer Street Rendering

Thayer St Overhead Map   

N Main St

Main St Rendering

Main St  Overhead

RIPTA’s Project Management team will oversee the next steps of this project, including full design and construction. This process will involve continued contact with our stakeholders and working with the City and RIDOT for approval and permitting.

RIPTA’s estimated timeline for full design of this project is Fall 2023, and construction would take place during Summer 2024.

Further questions can be directed to Julia Evelyn at jevelyn@ripta.com.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap