ALERT: بسبب أزمة الصحة العامة COVID-19 الحالية ، تم إغلاق العديد من مكاتب RIPTA ومراكز العبور. التفاصيل >>

الحاكم ماكي ، RIPTA ، المسؤولين الفيدراليين والولائيين والمحليين بمناسبة بدء أعمال البناء في أول محطة شحن خطية للحافلة الكهربائية في الولاية

26 مايو 2022

الأخبار الصحفية

PROVIDENCE ، RI - انضم إلى الحاكم دان ماكي ، اللفتنانت الحاكم سابينا ماتوس ، وأعضاء وفد الكونجرس بالولاية ، وقادة البلديات وهيئة النقل العام في رود آيلاند اليوم للاحتفال ببدء تشييد أول حافلة كهربائية في رود آيلاند. محطة. ستحتوي المحطة ، التي يمكنها شحن ما يصل إلى ثلاث حافلات كهربائية في وقت واحد ، على دورات مياه للسائقين وتحسينات مختلفة في الموقع بما في ذلك نظام إذابة الجليد في الموقع.

تعزز محطة الشحن الكهربائية الجديدة التزام إدارتنا بجودة هواء أنظف وطاقة مستدامة خالية من الانبعاثات. وقال الحاكم ماكي: "مشاريع مثل هذه تبني أيضًا على زخمنا في ضمان أن تكون رود آيلاند في طليعة الاقتصاد الأخضر". "من الأهمية بمكان أيضًا أن نضمن سهولة الوصول إلى وسائل النقل العام للركاب الذين يعتمدون على خدمات RIPTA للوصول إلى المدرسة أو العمل أو مكتب الطبيب. أشكر جميع شركائنا الذين جعلوا هذا اليوم ممكنًا وأتطلع إلى رؤية الأسطول الدائم من الحافلات الكهربائية على الطرق في جميع أنحاء ولايتنا ".

ستقع محطة شحن خط الحافلات الكهربائية على طول خط R-Line ، وهو مسار RIPTA الأكثر استخدامًا والأعلى استخدامًا للركاب ، والذي يربط بين Providence و Pawtucket. سيعمل أول أسطول حافلات كهربائية بالكامل تابع لـ RIPTA على هذا الممر الرئيسي ، مما يقلل الانبعاثات في منطقة تأثر فيها العديد من مجتمعات الدخل المنخفض ومجتمعات BIPOC بتلوث الهواء.

قال اللفتنانت الحاكم سابينا ماتوس "كهربة النقل الجماعي هو المستقبل وضروري للدولة الخارجية لتحقيق أهدافها المناخية الطموحة". "تعد محطة الشحن هذه خطوة مهمة نحو تحقيق مستقبل خالٍ من الانبعاثات وأيضًا لتوفير النقل العام للطاقة النظيفة لمجتمعاتنا التي تعتمد عليها أكثر من غيرها." 

قال سكوت أفيديسيان ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ RIPTA: "محطة الشحن الكهربائية الجديدة هذه ليست فقط عنصرًا رئيسيًا في معركتنا ضد تغير المناخ ، ولكنها أداة للإصحاح البيئي أيضًا". "إن إنشاء هذه المحطة في Broad City Line يعزز التزامنا بالحد من انبعاثات الكربون العالمية ، مع تحسين جودة الهواء للمجتمعات التي تعتمد على النقل العابر المثقلة بالآثار الصحية الضارة للتلوث."

قال كين هوبكنز عمدة كرانستون: "النقل العام أمر بالغ الأهمية للعديد من سكان كرانستون". "يعتبر هذا الاستثمار في التكنولوجيا الخضراء خطوة إيجابية نحو جعل ولاية رود آيلاند أكثر صحة من خلال خفض الانبعاثات وتقليل الآثار السلبية لتلوث الهواء. أنا أحيي RIPTA على جهودهم ".

قال خورخي أو إلورزا ، عمدة بروفيدانس ، "هذه خطوة مثيرة للأمام حيث تواصل دولتنا جهودها لتزويد أسطول النقل لدينا بالكهرباء". "يجب أن تكون العدالة المناخية والإنصاف في طليعة استثماراتنا في البنية التحتية ، وأنا أتطلع إلى الفوائد التي تعود على ركاب الترانزيت ومجتمعنا بأكمله عند اكتمال هذا المشروع."

صرح مدير منطقة التجارة الحرة الأول ، بيتر باتلر ، "تفخر اتفاقية التجارة الحرة بدعم انتقال RIPTA إلى أسطول حافلات أكثر نظافة وصديقة للبيئة". "ستساعد محطة شحن خط الحافلة الكهربائية RIPTA على تعزيز أهدافها لتحسين جودة الهواء ومعالجة أزمة المناخ العالمية. تلتزم اتفاقية التجارة الحرة بدعم مشاريع الحافلات عديمة الانبعاثات من خلال برنامج المركبات منخفضة الانبعاثات أو عديمة الانبعاثات والموارد الإضافية المتاحة بموجب قانون البنية التحتية للحزبين لتعزيز مبادرات النقل المستدام ".

"إنه لأمر رائع أن نرى RIPTA تتقدم في خططها لتزويد أسطول الحافلات بالكهرباء والاستفادة من الاستثمارات الفيدرالية لإجراء التحسينات اللازمة في البنية التحتية. سيقلل الجيل الجديد من الحافلات النظيفة والأخضر من التلوث ولن يتأثر بصدمات أسعار النفط الأجنبية. سأستمر في العمل لتقديم التمويل الفيدرالي لمساعدة RIPTA على إجراء انتقال سلس إلى الحافلات الكهربائية وتركيب أجهزة الشحن وتحديث البنية التحتية ذات الصلة ، "قال السيناتور ريد ، العضو البارز في لجنة الاعتمادات الذي ساعد في تقديم 1.1 مليار دولار من التمويل الفيدرالي هذا العام إلى توسيع برنامج المركبات العابرة منخفضة الانبعاثات وعديمة الانبعاثات ، مما سيساعد في تسريع الانتقال إلى وسائل النقل العام النظيفة على الصعيد الوطني.

قال السيناتور وايتهاوس: "ستكون RIPTA قادرة على تشغيل أكثر مساراتها ازدحامًا بالكامل بالحافلات الكهربائية بمجرد اكتمال محطة الشحن الجديدة هذه ، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاض الانبعاثات وهواء أنظف في المجتمعات التي تحملت وطأة التلوث لفترة طويلة جدًا". "المزيد من الاستثمارات الفيدرالية من قانون البنية التحتية من الحزبين يمكن أن تساعد الدولة على الاستمرار في تحسين نظام النقل العام."

المشروع الذي تبلغ تكلفته حوالي 6.7 مليون دولار ، والذي من المتوقع أن تكتمل BOND Civil & Utility Construction، Inc. بحلول خريف 2022 ، يتم تمويله إلى حد كبير من قبل صندوق تسوية فولكس فاجن. الأموال المتبقية تأتي من تمويل العبور الفيدرالي. تتمتع BOND Civil & Utility Construction، Inc. في ميدفورد ، ماساتشوستس بخبرة في تقديم البنية التحتية الحيوية ، بما في ذلك محطات شحن الحافلات الكهربائية ، للمؤسسات والمرافق الكبرى وشركات الطاقة والطاقة. إنهم يعملون بشكل وثيق مع National Grid لضمان توفر الطاقة الكهربائية وخط الغاز عالي الضغط لهذا المشروع.

حول برنامج الحافلات الكهربائية ذات الانبعاثات الصفرية: في مايو 2018 ، أعلنت ولاية رود آيلاند أن ما يقرب من 14.4 مليون دولار من أموال تسوية فولكس فاجن بالولاية ستستخدم في اتخاذ خطوات مهمة نحو تحسين جودة الهواء في رود آيلاند - بما في ذلك شراء حافلات كهربائية لـ هيئة النقل العام في رود آيلاند. في عام 2019 ، أطلقت RIPTA برنامجًا تجريبيًا مع ثلاث حافلات مؤجرة تعمل بالكهرباء بالكامل. أتاحت المرحلة الأولى من التجربة لـ RIPTA فرصة للتعرف على التكنولوجيا الجديدة وتدريب الموظفين واختبار أداء الحافلات الكهربائية على مجموعة متنوعة من مسارات RIPTA. الآن وقد اكتملت المرحلة الأولى ، انتقلت RIPTA إلى الأمام في المرحلة الثانية - بناء محطة الشحن المدمجة هذه ، بالإضافة إلى شراء أربعة عشر حافلة كهربائية كإضافات دائمة إلى أسطولها. يزور RIPTA.com/electric-bus لمعرفة المزيد عن برنامج الحافلات الكهربائية للانبعاثات الصفرية التابع للسلطة.

شارك عبر
انسخ الرابط

ALERT: Due to the current COVID-19 public health crisis, many RIPTA Offices and transit centers are closed. Details >>

Governor McKee, RIPTA, Federal, State, and Local Officials Mark the Start of Construction on State’s First Electric Bus In-Line Charging Station

May 26, 2022

Press Releases

PROVIDENCE, RI – Governor Dan McKee, was joined by Lt. Governor Sabina Matos, members of the State’s Congressional delegation, municipal leaders and the Rhode Island Public Transit Authority today to mark the start of construction on Rhode Island’s first electric bus in-line charging station. The station, which can charge up to three electric buses simultaneously, will also feature driver restrooms and various site improvements including an on-site snow-melt system.

“The new electric charging station furthers our Administration’s commitment to cleaner air quality and zero-emission, sustainable energy. Projects like this also build on our momentum in ensuring Rhode Island is at the forefront of the green economy,” said Governor McKee. “It is also critical that we ensure easier access to public transportation for riders, who rely on RIPTA’s services to get to school, work, or the doctor’s office. I thank all of our partners who made this day possible and look forward to seeing the permanent fleet of electric buses on roads across our state.”

The Electric Bus In-Line Charging Station will be located along the R-Line, RIPTA’s most frequently-used and highest-ridership route, connecting Providence and Pawtucket. RIPTA’s first fully electric bus fleet will operate on this key corridor, lowering emissions in an area where many low-income and BIPOC communities have been affected by air pollution.

“Electrification of mass transit is the future and necessary for out state to achieve its ambitious climate goals,” said Lt. Governor Sabina Matos. “This charging station is an important step towards achieving a net-zero emissions future and also for providing clean energy public transit to our communities who rely on it most.” 

“This new electric charging station is not only a key component in our battle against climate change, but an environmental justice tool as well,” said Scott Avedisian, Chief Executive Officer of RIPTA. “Constructing this station at Broad City Line cements our commitment to reducing global carbon emissions, while improving air quality for transit-dependent communities burdened by the adverse health effects of pollution.”

“Public transportation is crucial to so many Cranston residents,” said Cranston Mayor Ken Hopkins. “This investment in green technology is a positive step towards making Rhode Island a healthier state by lowering emissions and reducing the negative impacts of air pollution. I applaud RIPTA for their efforts.”

“This is an exciting step forward as our state continues its efforts to electrify our transit fleet,” said Providence Mayor Jorge O. Elorza. “Climate justice and equity must be at the forefront of our infrastructure investments, and I look forward to the benefits for transit riders and our entire community when this project is completed.”

“FTA is proud to support RIPTA’s transition to a cleaner and greener bus fleet,” said FTA Region I Administrator Peter Butler. “The Electric Bus In-Line Charging Station will help RIPTA advance its goals to improve air quality and address our global climate crisis. FTA is committed to supporting zero-emission bus projects through the Low or No Emission Vehicle Program and the additional resources available under the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law to advance sustainable transit initiatives.”

“It’s great to see RIPTA surging ahead with plans to electrify its bus fleet and leveraging federal investments to make needed infrastructure improvements. The new generation of cleaner, greener buses will reduce pollution and won’t be impacted by foreign oil price shocks. I will continue working to deliver federal funding to help RIPTA make a smooth transition to electric buses, install chargers, and upgrade related infrastructure,” said Senator Reed, a senior member of the Appropriations Committee who helped deliver $1.1 billion in federal funding this year to expand the Low- and No-Emission Transit Vehicle Program, which will help accelerate the transition to clean public transit nationwide.

“RIPTA will be able to run its busiest route entirely with electric buses once this new charging station is complete, resulting in lower emissions and cleaner air in communities that have borne the brunt of pollution for too long,” said Senator Whitehouse. “More federal investments from our bipartisan infrastructure law can help the state continue to green up the public transit system.”

The roughly $6.7 million project, which BOND Civil & Utility Construction, Inc. is expected to complete by Fall 2022, is funded largely by a Volkswagen settlement fund. The remaining funds are coming from federal transit funding. BOND Civil & Utility Construction, Inc. of Medford, Massachusetts is experienced in delivering critical infrastructure, including electric bus charging stations, for institutions, major utilities, and power and energy companies. They are working closely with National Grid to ensure that electrical power and a high-pressure gas line is available for this project.

About the Zero Emissions Electric Bus Program: In May 2018, the State of Rhode Island announced that approximately $14.4 million of the state’s Volkswagen settlement funds would be used to take important steps toward improving air quality in Rhode Island – including the acquisition of electric buses for the Rhode Island Public Transit Authority. In 2019, RIPTA launched a pilot program with three leased all-electric buses. Phase I of the pilot provided RIPTA with an opportunity to learn about the new technology, train staff, and test the performance of the electric buses on a variety of RIPTA routes. Now that the Phase I is complete, RIPTA has moved forward with Phase II – the construction of this in-line charging station, as well as the purchase of fourteen electric buses as permanent additions to its fleet. Visit RIPTA.com/electric-bus to learn more about the Authority’s Zero Emissions Electric Bus Program.

Share via
Copy link