警告: 由于当前的COVID-19公共卫生危机,许多RIPTA办事处和运输中心都关闭了。 详细>>

市区公交2.0

RIPTA委托了几项近期研究,以寻求改善罗德岛民过境经历的方法。 乘客量的不断增长以及对提供最能满足我们州需求的服务的需求,推动了对RIPTA运营的最新评估,包括综合运营分析(COA)。 由于几乎所有的RIPTA路线都通向肯尼迪广场,因此预计将对该位置的操作进行更仔细的研究。 RIPTA与RI交通部和RI全州规划局合作,正在进行市区交通改善研究, 市区公交2.0,以评估是否会引入额外的普罗维登斯市区中转站是否可以改善现有骑手的服务,增强市区通行性和机动性,以及解决肯尼迪广场的运营和乘客体验问题。

当城市不再有一个公交枢纽时,最常用的方法是确定其他公交中心,并以扩大服务范围和改善整体公交服务的方式整合公交运营。 可以安排公交车通过并为多个运输中心服务,从而为乘客提供了前往新地点的便利,并更好地分配了公交流量。 这项研究评估了这种方法是否既可以改善普罗维登斯市区的公交服务,又可以解决肯尼迪广场日益增长的运营挑战。 在普罗维登斯火车站附近和珠宝区将考虑新的运输中心。

引入新的运输中心和航站楼也可能带来满足预期的社区发展目标的次要好处,包括振兴肯尼迪广场/伯恩赛德公园地区,提供与Providence Station的更好连接,以支持罗德岛的通勤和城际铁路客运量的持续增长,并达到城市目标,以实现车站区和珠宝区空地的预期发展。

这项研究的主要目标如下:

  1. 改善RIPTA车手的服务并吸引新车手
  2. 坚尼地广场应对运营和安全挑战
  3. 制定具有成本效益的解决方案
  4. 支持当地社区发展目标

项目文件:

复制链接

ALERT: Due to the current COVID-19 public health crisis, many RIPTA Offices and transit centers are closed. Details >>

Downtown Transit 2.0

RIPTA has commissioned several recent studies to seek ways to improve the transit experience for Rhode Islanders. Rising ridership and the need to provide service that best meets demand in our state has driven recent evaluations of RIPTA’s operations, including the Comprehensive Operational Analysis (COA). As almost all RIPTA routes access Kennedy Plaza, it is expected that operations at this location would be more closely studied. RIPTA, in partnership with the RI Department of Transportation and RI Statewide Planning, is conducting a downtown transit improvement study, Downtown Transit 2.0, to evaluate whether the introduction of additional downtown Providence transit stations could improve service for existing riders, enhance downtown accessibility and mobility, and resolve operational and passenger experience issues at Kennedy Plaza.

When cities outgrow a single transit hub, the most common approach is to identify additional transit centers and to integrate bus operations in a manner that expands service coverage and improves overall transit service.  Buses can be routed to pass through and serve more than one transit center, providing passengers with more convenient access to new locations and better distributing volumes of bus traffic. This study evaluates whether this approach could both improve transit service in downtown Providence and resolve growing operational challenges at Kennedy Plaza.  New transit centers will be considered in the vicinity of the Providence Train Station and in the Jewelry District.

Introducing new transit centers and terminals may also offer secondary benefits of meeting desired community development goals, including the revitalization of the Kennedy Plaza/Burnside Park area, providing better connections to Providence Station to support continued growth of commuter and intercity rail ridership in Rhode Island, and meeting City goals for desired development on vacant parcels in the Station area and Jewelry District.

This study has the following primary goals:

  1. Improve service for RIPTA riders and attract new riders
  2. Address operational and security challenges at Kennedy Plaza
  3. Develop cost-effective solutions
  4. Support local community development goals

Project Documents:

Copy link