ALERT: بسبب أزمة الصحة العامة COVID-19 الحالية ، تم إغلاق العديد من مكاتب RIPTA ومراكز العبور. التفاصيل >>

المبادرات الخضراء

ركزت RIPTA على المبادرات الخضراء التي تخفض تكاليف التشغيل مع تقليل تأثيرنا على البيئة.

تلعب RIPTA أيضًا دورًا مهمًا في الحد من انبعاثات المركبات في رود آيلاند عن طريق استبدال رحلات السيارات ، وتقليل ازدحام المرور وتمكين التطوير المدمج. من خلال توفير خدمة عبور عالية الجودة ، نسعى جاهدين لجعل دولتنا أكثر استدامة. قامت RIPTA باستثمارات خضراء في المجالات التالية:

• تنظيف المركبات
• مرافق فعالة
• مبادرات المباني الخضراء
• تحسينات الخدمة

المركبات النظيفة

في أكتوبر 2010 ، احتفلت RIPTA بوصول عشر عربات هجينة كلاسيكية جديدة ، بالإضافة إلى استبدال جزء من أسطول المسار الثابت بحافلات Gillig BRT الهجينة. الأنظمة التي تقلل الانبعاثات ، وتوفر الوقود وأكثر سلاسة وهدوء من الحافلات التقليدية. وهذا لا يقلل من تلوث الهواء فحسب ، بل يقلل من الضوضاء أيضًا ، وبالتالي تحسين البيئة لسكان رود آيلاند.

تتوافق كل من العربات والحافلات مع معايير انبعاثات وكالة حماية البيئة (EPA) للعام. هذه المركبات الأحدث مطلوبة لتلبية معايير انبعاثات أكثر صرامة. تتطلب المحركات الهجينة حوالي نصف عدد إصلاحات الفرامل. في المجموع ، يوفر الأسطول الهجين ما يصل إلى 350,000 دولار سنويًا في تكاليف الميزانية التشغيلية ، اعتمادًا على سعر الوقود والأداء التشغيلي.

عربات الهجين الكلاسيكية
اشترت RIPTA عشر مركبات جديدة بأحدث أنظمة محركات الديزل / الكهرباء الهجينة المتوازية. قامت المنح الفيدرالية لإدارة النقل بتمويل التكلفة الأساسية للعربات ، في حين أن قانون الانتعاش الأمريكي وإعادة الاستثمار (ARRA) يغطي التكلفة الإضافية لنظام الدفع الهجين. تم توفير مباراة محلية بنسبة 20 ٪ من سندات الالتزام العامة للدولة. تحتوي العربة على موثوقية Gillig للخدمة الشاقة وإمكانية الوصول إلى ADA ملفوفة في جاذبية سحر العربة القديم.

حافلة جيليج BRT الهجينة
تتميز الحافلة الهجينة بالعديد من التحسينات بما في ذلك رفوف الدراجة الجديدة المصنوعة من الفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ لسهولة تحميل الدراجات ، ومقاعد ناعمة جديدة ، وممتصات صدمات KONI المحسنة لقيادة أفضل. محرك الحافلة ، محرك Cummins ISL 2007 EPA Emission الجديد ، يلبي جميع متطلبات وكالة حماية البيئة الحالية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن الآن للأبواب الأمامية تحميل الكراسي المتحركة وتم إعادة تصميم منحدر الكراسي المتحركة لتقليل الصيانة. تم تمويل هذه الحافلات والعربات الجديدة من خلال العديد من المنح الفيدرالية لإدارة النقل ، و Rhode Island Bonds ، و American Recovery & Reinvestment Act Grants ، وكانت جزءًا من خطة استبدال الأسطول العادية لـ RIPTA للحفاظ على الأسطول في أفضل حالة. يؤدي استبدال حافلات الديزل إلى نظام هجين إلى توفير ما يصل إلى 17٪ في الوقود لـ RIPTA.

مرافق فعالة

تواصل RIPTA القيام باستثمارات رأسمالية استراتيجية للحد من بصمتنا البيئية. في السنوات الخمس الماضية ، فازت RIPTA بمنحتي استثمار اتحادي اتحاديين تنافسيين لخفض انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري والطاقة (TIGGER) للاستثمار في كفاءة الطاقة. تسعى RIPTA جاهدة باستمرار لتقليل استخدامنا للطاقة في منشآتنا في بروفيدنس ونيوبورت من خلال تقليل الطلب على الكهرباء. نتطلع الآن إلى إنتاج طاقتنا باستخدام الألواح الشمسية.

كفاءة إستهلاك الطاقة
نظرًا لأن عملية XNUMX ساعة في عدد من المرافق القديمة ، فإن RIPTA هي مستهلك رئيسي للكهرباء. تم استخدام أموال المنحة لإعادة تجهيز جميع مرافق RIPTA بأضواء موفرة للطاقة. تم تحسين أنظمة الإضاءة في Chafee Operations ، مرفق النقل والصيانة ، المباني والأرض / مبنى المرافق ، مبنى RIde الإداري في بروفيدنس ، كينيدي بلازا ، نفق الجانب الشرقي ، وكذلك RIPTA's Newport Garage.

عملت RIPTA بشكل وثيق مع National Grid and Rise engineering ، ومقرها في Cranston ، RI ، لاستبدال تركيبات الهاليد الفلوري المعدنية الفلورية الموجودة في منشآتنا بمصابيح جديدة موفرة للطاقة ، وتوفير الطاقة وخفض نفقات التشغيل. قلل المشروع من تنوع الأضواء المخزنة وتكرار الاستبدال. تضمن جزء من تحسينات الإضاءة مصابيح مقاومة للانفجار مصممة خصيصًا لظروف خاصة في مرفق عمليات النقل والنقل والصيانة.

من خلال التحول إلى أنظمة أكثر كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة ، توقعت RIPTA توفير أكثر من 100,000 دولار سنويًا في نفقات الكهرباء. نحن أكثر من مجرد تحقيق هذا الهدف ، وسوف نحقق ما يقرب من 100,000 دولار أمريكي من التوفير من خلال مبنيين وحدهما ، مبنى النقل في إلموود وقسم نيوبورت في Coddington Highway.

مستحضرات تنظيف
تحتفظ RIPTA بمرافقنا وحافلاتنا باستخدام منظف ChemStation الأخضر متعدد الأغراض. منتجات التنظيف القائمة على الماء قابلة للتحلل الحيوي ولا تشكل تهديدًا للبيئة. لا يحتوي هذا المنظف على الفوسفات أو المواد المسرطنة أو المركبات المستنفدة للأوزون أو خصائص النفايات الخطرة.

مبادرات البناء الأخضر

مركز عمليات المظليين الجديد
في يوليو 2010 ، افتتحت RIPTA مركز عمليات Paratransit الموجود في 705 شارع إلموود في بروفيدنس. قدم مركز عمليات Paratransit ، وهو مرفق إجمالي 41 مليونًا و 139,400 قدم مربع ، إلى RIPTA مع أحدث المباني والمعدات التي تشتد الحاجة إليها لاستيعاب احتياجات RIPTA الحالية والمستقبلية من أسطول Paratransit. تتضمن العديد من ميزات المباني "الخضراء" نظام تسقيف أبيض عاكس للحد من تأثير الجزيرة الحرارية مما يساعد في الحفاظ على برودة المبنى ومناوره الكبيرة المصممة لجلب الضوء الطبيعي إلى منطقة الصيانة. كما تم تركيب أبواب مرآب عالية السرعة لتقليل كمية الحرارة الخارجة من المبنى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تم استخدام الإضاءة الموفرة للطاقة ، والنوافذ المعزولة منخفضة E ، وحواجز الهواء والبخار عالية الأداء في جميع أنحاء المنشأة.

ساعد هذا المركز الجديد RIPTA على تلبية العديد من الاحتياجات المعلقة منذ فترة طويلة وتقديم عدد من الكفاءات والتحسينات التشغيلية الهامة. سيكون لنقل العمليات الحالية إلى مركز عمليات Paratransit تأثير مباشر وإيجابي على العمالة والوقود والطاقة في RIPTA ، مما يوفر الآلاف من RIPTA في التكاليف التشغيلية. على سبيل المثال ، زاد التخزين الداخلي لـ Paratransit Bus الجديد من سعة التخزين الداخلية. بسبب التخزين المحدود في الماضي ، بقيت حوالي 40 حافلة ذات خطوط ثابتة و 87 مركبة Paratransit / Flex في الخارج ، والتي أصبحت مكلفة في أشهر الشتاء. خلال ظروف الطقس الشتوية ، تم توظيف ميكانيكيين إضافيين لـ RIPTA لمحركات الحافلات الخاملة بشكل دوري أثناء الليل لمنع التجمد طوال الليل وضمان موثوقية خدمة الصباح الباكر. وقد أدى التخزين الإضافي للحافلات إلى القضاء على الحاجة إلى هذه الممارسة ، وبالتالي توفير آلاف RIPTA على تكاليف الوقود والعمالة.

مشروع سقف الطاقة الشمسية لمبنى النقل
خلال السنة المالية 2013 ، أكملت RIPTA مشروع استبدال السقف / الألواح الشمسية في مبنى النقل الواقع في 269 شارع ميلروز في بروفيدنس. قامت الوكالة بتركيب 1130 لوحة شمسية مثبتة على السطح. أموال المشروع هي مزيج من أموال ARRA الفيدرالية ، ومنحة اتحادية تنافسية للاستثمارات الخضراء ، والأموال من تسوية المدعي العام لقضية بيئية ، وصناديق قروض RIPTA المتجددة. بالإضافة إلى إنتاج الطاقة الشمسية ، ستضيف RIPTA ضوءًا طبيعيًا في هذا المبنى حيث لا يوجد حاليًا ، مثل الحمامات وصالة السائقين. وتتوقع الوكالة أن تكسب 55,000 ألف دولار سنويًا كمنتج للطاقة الشمسية.

تحسينات الخدمة

R-Line Rapid Bus Route مع تنفيذ R-Line في السنة المالية 2014 ، تلتزم RIPTA بتشغيل مسار حافلة أكثر سهولة في الاستخدام وأكثر صداقة للبيئة. في كل من الملاجئ الـ 25 المثبتة على طول هذا المسار ، سيتم تثبيت الإضاءة لخلق بيئة انتظار أكثر أمانًا للركاب. سيتم تشغيل هذه الإضاءة فقط من الألواح الشمسية ولن تعتمد على الشبكة الكهربائية للطاقة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تم تثبيت أولوية إشارة العبور (TSP) في أكثر من 60 موقعًا على طول هذا المسار. ستمكن تقنية TSP حافلات RIPTA من العمل بكفاءة أكبر مع تقليل التباطؤ عند التقاطعات. سيمكن TSP RIPTA من تقديم خدمة مماثلة لما هو معروض بالفعل مع عدد أقل من الحافلات ، وبالتالي تقليل الأثر البيئي لهذا المسار.

انسخ الرابط

ALERT: RIPTA Service to Run Holiday Schedule in Observance of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day on Monday, January 18, 2021 Details >>

ALERT: Winter Schedule Changes Effective January 16, 2021 Details >>

GREEN INITIATIVES

RIPTA has focused on green initiatives that cut operating costs while reducing our environmental impact.

RIPTA also plays an important role in reducing vehicle emissions in Rhode Island by replacing automobile trips, reducing traffic congestion and enabling compact development. By providing high-quality transit service, we strive to make our state more sustainable. RIPTA has made green investments in the following areas:

• Clean Vehicles
• Efficient Facilities
• Green Building Initiatives
• Service Improvements

CLEAN VEHICLES

In October 2010, RIPTA celebrated the arrival of ten new classic hybrid trolleys, as well as replacing a portion of the fixed-route fleet with Gillig BRT Hybrid Buses.. The new hybrid diesel Gillig buses and trolleys are powered by clean diesel hybrid electrical propulsion systems that reduce emissions, save fuel and are smoother and quieter than conventional buses. This not only reduces air pollution, but noise pollution as well, thus improving the environment for Rhode Islanders.

Both trolleys and buses are compliant with Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) emissions standards for their year; these newer vehicles are required to meet tougher emissions criteria. Hybrid powertrains require about half as many brake repairs. In total, the hybrid fleet saves as much as $350,000 annually in operating budget costs, depending on the price of fuel and operational performance.

Classic Hybrid Trolleys
RIPTA purchased ten new vehicles with state of the art hybrid parallel drive diesel/electric systems. Federal Transit Administration Grants funded the base cost of the trolleys, while the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) covered the incremental cost of the Hybrid Propulsion System. A 20% local match was provided by State General Obligation Bonds. The trolley includes Gillig heavy-duty reliability and ADA accessibility wrapped up in the appeal of old fashioned trolley charm.

Gillig BRT Hybrid Buses
The hybrid bus features many improvements including new stainless steel bike racks for easer bicycle loading, new soft seating, and improved KONI shock absorbers for a better ride. The bus’s engine, a new Cummins ISL 2007 EPA Emission engine, meets all current EPA requirements. In addition, the front doors can now load wheelchairs and the wheelchair ramp has been redesigned to reduce maintenance. Funded by various Federal Transit Administration Grants, Rhode Island Bonds, and American Recovery & Reinvestment Act Grants, these new buses and trolleys were part of RIPTA’s normal fleet replacement plan to maintain the fleet in top condition. Replacement of diesel buses to a hybrid system yields as much as a 17% savings on fuel for RIPTA.

EFFICIENT FACILITIES

RIPTA continues to make strategic capital investments to reduce our environmental footprint. In the last five years, RIPTA won two competitive Federal Transit Investment for Greenhouse Gas and Energy Reduction (TIGGER) grants to invest in energy efficiency. RIPTA is constantly striving to reduce our energy use at our facilities in Providence and Newport by decreasing demand for electricity. Now we’re looking to produce our own energy using solar panels.

Energy Efficiency
As a twenty-four hour operation housed in a number of older facilities, RIPTA is a major consumer of electricity. Grant money was used to retrofit all RIPTA’s facilities with energy-efficient lights. Lighting systems were improved at the Chafee Operations, Transportation and Maintenance Facility, the Buildings and Grounds/Utility Building, the RIde Administration Office Building in Providence, Kennedy Plaza, the East Side tunnel, as well as the RIPTA’s Newport Garage.

RIPTA worked closely with National Grid and Rise engineering, based in Cranston, RI, to replace existing metal halide and fluorescent fixtures in our facilities with new energy efficient light fixtures, saving energy and reducing operating expenses. The project reduced the variety of lights kept in stock and the frequency of replacement. Part of the lighting improvements included specially designed explosion-proof lights for special conditions in the Chafee Operations, Transportation and Maintenance Facility.

By converting to more energy efficient systems, RIPTA expected to save over $100,000 annually in electricity expenses. We are more than meeting that goal, and will realize nearly $100,000in savings with two buildings alone, the Transportation building at Elmwood and the Newport Division at Coddington Highway.

Cleaning Products
RIPTA maintains our facilities and buses using ChemStation’s green Multi-Purpose Cleaner. Their water-based cleaning products are biodegradable and do not present a threat to the environment. This cleaner does not contain phosphates, carcinogens, ozone-depleting compounds, or hazardous waste characteristics.

GREEN BUILDING INITIATIVES

New Paratransit Operations Center
In July 2010, RIPTA opened the Paratransit Operations Center located at 705 Elmwood Avenue in Providence. The Paratransit Operations Center, a $41 million 139,400 gross square feet facility, provided RIPTA with a much-needed state of the art building and equipment to accommodate RIPTA’s existing and future Paratransit fleet needs. The many “green” building features include a white reflective roofing system to reduce the heat island affect helping keep the building cooler and large skylights which are designed to bring natural light into the maintenance area. High-speed garage doors were also installed to reduce the amount of heat escaping the building. In addition, energy efficient lighting, low-E insulated windows, high performing air and vapor barriers, were used throughout the facility.

This new center helped RIPTA meet many long-outstanding needs and introduce a number of important operational efficiencies and enhancements. Moving existing operations to the Paratransit Operations Center will had a direct, positive impact on RIPTA’s labor, fuel, and energy usage, thus saving RIPTA thousands in operational costs. For example, the new Paratransit Bus interior storage increased indoor storage capacity. Due to limited storage in the past, approximately 40 fixed-route buses and 87 Paratransit/Flex vehicles remained outside, which became costly in the winter months. During winter weather conditions, additional RIPTA mechanics were staffed to idle bus engines periodically during the night to prevent overnight freezing and ensure the reliability of early morning service. The additional bus storage eliminated the need for this practice, thus saving RIPTA thousands on the costs of fuel and labor.

Transportation Building Solar Roof Project
During FY 2013, RIPTA completed the Roof Replacement/Solar Panel project at the Transportation Building located at 269 Melrose Street in Providence. The agency installed 1130 roof-mounted solar panels. Funds for the project are a combination of Federal ARRA funds, a competitive Federal grant for green investments, funds from the Attorney General’s settlement of an environmental lawsuit, and RIPTA revolving loan funds. In addition to producing solar power, RIPTA will add natural light in this building where there currently is none, such as the restrooms and the drivers’ lounge. The agency expects to earn $55,000 annually as a producer of solar energy.

SERVICE IMPROVEMENTS

R-Line Rapid Bus Route With the implementation of the R-Line in FY 2014, RIPTA is committed to operating a bus route that is more user-friendly and more environmentally friendly. At each of the 25 shelters installed along this route, lighting will be installed to create a safer waiting environment for passengers. This lighting will be powered only from solar panels and will not rely on the electrical grid for power. In addition, Transit Signal Priority (TSP) has been installed at more than 60 locations along this route. TSP technology will enable RIPTA buses to operate more efficiently with reduced idling at intersections. TSP will enable RIPTA to offer comparable service to what is already offered with fewer buses, therefore reducing the environmental impact of this route.

Copy link