警告: 由于当前的COVID-19公共卫生危机,许多RIPTA办事处和运输中心都关闭了。 详细>>

绿色倡议

RIPTA专注于绿色举措,这些举措可降低运营成本,同时减少对环境的影响。

RIPTA在取代罗德岛的出行,减少交通拥堵和实现紧凑型开发方面,在减少罗德岛州的车辆排放中也发挥着重要作用。 通过提供高质量的中转服务,我们努力使我们的州更具可持续性。 RIPTA在以下领域进行了绿色投资:

•清洁车辆
•高效的设施
•绿色建筑倡议
•服务改进

清洁车辆

2010年XNUMX月,RIPTA庆祝十辆新型经典混合动力手推车的到来,并用Gillig BRT混合动力客车取代了部分固定路线车队。与传统公交车相比,该系统可减少排放,节省燃料,并且更平稳,更安静。 这不仅减少了空气污染,而且减少了噪音污染,从而改善了罗德岛民的环境。

无轨电车和公共汽车都符合当年的环境保护署(EPA)排放标准; 这些更新的车辆需要满足更严格的排放标准。 混合动力总成需要大约一半的制动器维修。 总体而言,混合动力车队每年可节省多达350,000美元的运营预算成本,具体取决于燃料价格和运营绩效。

经典混合动力车
RIPTA购买了十辆新车,这些车配备了先进的混合并联柴油/电力系统。 联邦运输管理局赠款资助了手推车的基本成本,而《美国复苏与再投资法案》(ARRA)涵盖了混合动力系统的增量成本。 国家一般义务债券提供了20%的本地匹配。 该手推车具有Gillig的重型可靠性和ADA可访问性,这是老式手推车魅力的完美体现。

Gillig BRT混合动力客车
混合动力公交车具有许多改进,包括用于减轻自行车装载负担的新型不锈钢自行车架,新型软座椅和改进的KONI减震器,以改善行驶性能。 客车的发动机是新的康明斯ISL 2007 EPA排放发动机,可以满足当前所有的EPA要求。 此外,前门现在可以装载轮椅,并且轮椅坡道已经过重新设计以减少维护。 这些新的公共汽车和无轨电车由各种联邦运输管理局拨款,罗德岛债券和美国复苏与再投资法案拨款资助,是RIPTA正常车队更换计划的一部分,以使车队保持最佳状态。 将柴油公交车替换为混合动力系统可为RIPTA节省多达17%的燃料。

高效的设施

RIPTA继续进行战略性资本投资,以减少我们的环境足迹。 在过去的五年中,RIPTA赢得了两项颇具竞争力的联邦公共交通投资,用于温室气体和节能减排(TIGGER)赠款,以投资于能源效率。 RIPTA一直在努力通过减少电力需求来减少我们在普罗维登斯和纽波特工厂的能源消耗。 现在,我们正在寻求使用太阳能电池板生产自己的能源。

能源效率
由于RIPTA是XNUMX小时运行的设备,位于许多较旧的设施中,因此是主要的用电量。 赠款用于将RIPTA的所有设施改造为节能灯。 Chafee运营,运输和维护设施,建筑物和地面/公用事业大楼,普罗维登斯的RIde行政办公大楼,肯尼迪广场,东侧隧道以及RIPTA的纽波特车库均改善了照明系统。

RIPTA与美国国家电网和Rise工程公司密切合作,该公司位于美国罗德岛州克兰斯顿,使用新的节能灯具替换了我们设施中现有的金属卤化物和荧光灯灯具,从而节省了能源并降低了运营成本。 该项目减少了库存的灯的种类和更换频率。 灯光的部分改进包括为Chafee运营,运输和维护设施中的特殊条件设计的防爆灯。

通过转换为更节能的系统,RIPTA有望每年节省超过100,000美元的电费。 我们不仅实现了这个目标,而且仅通过两栋建筑物,即Elmwood的运输大楼和Coddington Highway的Newport Division,就可以节省近100,000美元。

清洁产品
RIPTA使用化学工作站的绿色多功能清洁剂维护我们的设施和公交车。 他们的水基清洁产品可生物降解,不会对环境构成威胁。 该清洁剂不含磷酸盐,致癌物,消耗臭氧的化合物或有害废物特性。

绿色建筑倡议

新的辅助公交运营中心
2010年705月,RIPTA在普罗维登斯(Providence)的Elmwood Avenue 41号开设了Paratransit运营中心。 辅助交通运营中心是一个耗资139,400万美元,总面积为XNUMX平方英尺的设施,为RIPTA提供了急需的最先进的建筑和设备,可满足RIPTA现有和未来的Paratransit机队需求。 许多“绿色”建筑特征包括一个白色反光屋顶系统,以减少热岛效应,帮助保持建筑物凉爽;还有大型天窗,旨在将自然光引入维护区域。 还安装了高速车库门,以减少散发建筑物的热量。 此外,整个工厂都使用了节能照明,低辐射的隔热窗户,高性能的空气和蒸汽屏障。

这个新中心帮助RIPTA满足了许多长期的需求,并引入了许多重要的运营效率和增强功能。 将现有运营转移到Paratransit运营中心将对RIPTA的人工,燃料和能源使用产生直接的积极影响,从而为RIPTA节省数千美元的运营成本。 例如,新的Paratransit Bus内部存储增加了室内存储容量。 由于过去存储空间有限,大约40辆固定路线公交车和87辆Paratransit / Flex车辆仍留在室外,这在冬季变得昂贵。 在冬季天气条件下,夜间会定期安排其他RIPTA技工进行空转,以防止通宵冻结并确保清晨服务的可靠性。 额外的公交车存储消除了这种做法的需要,从而为RIPTA节省了数千美元的燃料和人工成本。

运输大楼太阳能屋顶工程
2013财年,RIPTA在位于普罗维登斯梅尔罗斯街269号的运输大楼完成了屋顶更换/太阳能板项目。 该机构安装了1130个屋顶安装的太阳能电池板。 该项目的资金包括联邦ARRA资金,具有竞争力的联邦绿色投资赠款,总检察长解决环境诉讼的资金以及RIPTA循环贷款资金。 除了产生太阳能外,RIPTA还将在目前没有照明设备的建筑物中增加自然光,例如洗手间和驾驶员休息室。 该机构预计,太阳能生产商的年收入为55,000美元。

服务改进

R-Line快速公交路线随着2014财年R-Line的实施,RIPTA致力于运营一条更加人性化和环保的公交路线。 在沿这条路线安装的25个避难所中,每个避难所都将安装照明设备,以为乘客创造更安全的候车环境。 该照明将仅由太阳能电池板供电,而不会依靠电网供电。 此外,该路线的60多个位置都安装了公交信号优先(TSP)。 TSP技术将使RIPTA公交车能够更高效地运行,并减少交叉路口的空转。 TSP将使RIPTA能够提供与已经用更少的公交车提供的服务相媲美的服务,从而减少了这条路线对环境的影响。

复制链接

ALERT: RIPTA Service to Run Holiday Schedule in Observance of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day on Monday, January 18, 2021 Details >>

ALERT: Winter Schedule Changes Effective January 16, 2021 Details >>

GREEN INITIATIVES

RIPTA has focused on green initiatives that cut operating costs while reducing our environmental impact.

RIPTA also plays an important role in reducing vehicle emissions in Rhode Island by replacing automobile trips, reducing traffic congestion and enabling compact development. By providing high-quality transit service, we strive to make our state more sustainable. RIPTA has made green investments in the following areas:

• Clean Vehicles
• Efficient Facilities
• Green Building Initiatives
• Service Improvements

CLEAN VEHICLES

In October 2010, RIPTA celebrated the arrival of ten new classic hybrid trolleys, as well as replacing a portion of the fixed-route fleet with Gillig BRT Hybrid Buses.. The new hybrid diesel Gillig buses and trolleys are powered by clean diesel hybrid electrical propulsion systems that reduce emissions, save fuel and are smoother and quieter than conventional buses. This not only reduces air pollution, but noise pollution as well, thus improving the environment for Rhode Islanders.

Both trolleys and buses are compliant with Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) emissions standards for their year; these newer vehicles are required to meet tougher emissions criteria. Hybrid powertrains require about half as many brake repairs. In total, the hybrid fleet saves as much as $350,000 annually in operating budget costs, depending on the price of fuel and operational performance.

Classic Hybrid Trolleys
RIPTA purchased ten new vehicles with state of the art hybrid parallel drive diesel/electric systems. Federal Transit Administration Grants funded the base cost of the trolleys, while the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) covered the incremental cost of the Hybrid Propulsion System. A 20% local match was provided by State General Obligation Bonds. The trolley includes Gillig heavy-duty reliability and ADA accessibility wrapped up in the appeal of old fashioned trolley charm.

Gillig BRT Hybrid Buses
The hybrid bus features many improvements including new stainless steel bike racks for easer bicycle loading, new soft seating, and improved KONI shock absorbers for a better ride. The bus’s engine, a new Cummins ISL 2007 EPA Emission engine, meets all current EPA requirements. In addition, the front doors can now load wheelchairs and the wheelchair ramp has been redesigned to reduce maintenance. Funded by various Federal Transit Administration Grants, Rhode Island Bonds, and American Recovery & Reinvestment Act Grants, these new buses and trolleys were part of RIPTA’s normal fleet replacement plan to maintain the fleet in top condition. Replacement of diesel buses to a hybrid system yields as much as a 17% savings on fuel for RIPTA.

EFFICIENT FACILITIES

RIPTA continues to make strategic capital investments to reduce our environmental footprint. In the last five years, RIPTA won two competitive Federal Transit Investment for Greenhouse Gas and Energy Reduction (TIGGER) grants to invest in energy efficiency. RIPTA is constantly striving to reduce our energy use at our facilities in Providence and Newport by decreasing demand for electricity. Now we’re looking to produce our own energy using solar panels.

Energy Efficiency
As a twenty-four hour operation housed in a number of older facilities, RIPTA is a major consumer of electricity. Grant money was used to retrofit all RIPTA’s facilities with energy-efficient lights. Lighting systems were improved at the Chafee Operations, Transportation and Maintenance Facility, the Buildings and Grounds/Utility Building, the RIde Administration Office Building in Providence, Kennedy Plaza, the East Side tunnel, as well as the RIPTA’s Newport Garage.

RIPTA worked closely with National Grid and Rise engineering, based in Cranston, RI, to replace existing metal halide and fluorescent fixtures in our facilities with new energy efficient light fixtures, saving energy and reducing operating expenses. The project reduced the variety of lights kept in stock and the frequency of replacement. Part of the lighting improvements included specially designed explosion-proof lights for special conditions in the Chafee Operations, Transportation and Maintenance Facility.

By converting to more energy efficient systems, RIPTA expected to save over $100,000 annually in electricity expenses. We are more than meeting that goal, and will realize nearly $100,000in savings with two buildings alone, the Transportation building at Elmwood and the Newport Division at Coddington Highway.

Cleaning Products
RIPTA maintains our facilities and buses using ChemStation’s green Multi-Purpose Cleaner. Their water-based cleaning products are biodegradable and do not present a threat to the environment. This cleaner does not contain phosphates, carcinogens, ozone-depleting compounds, or hazardous waste characteristics.

GREEN BUILDING INITIATIVES

New Paratransit Operations Center
In July 2010, RIPTA opened the Paratransit Operations Center located at 705 Elmwood Avenue in Providence. The Paratransit Operations Center, a $41 million 139,400 gross square feet facility, provided RIPTA with a much-needed state of the art building and equipment to accommodate RIPTA’s existing and future Paratransit fleet needs. The many “green” building features include a white reflective roofing system to reduce the heat island affect helping keep the building cooler and large skylights which are designed to bring natural light into the maintenance area. High-speed garage doors were also installed to reduce the amount of heat escaping the building. In addition, energy efficient lighting, low-E insulated windows, high performing air and vapor barriers, were used throughout the facility.

This new center helped RIPTA meet many long-outstanding needs and introduce a number of important operational efficiencies and enhancements. Moving existing operations to the Paratransit Operations Center will had a direct, positive impact on RIPTA’s labor, fuel, and energy usage, thus saving RIPTA thousands in operational costs. For example, the new Paratransit Bus interior storage increased indoor storage capacity. Due to limited storage in the past, approximately 40 fixed-route buses and 87 Paratransit/Flex vehicles remained outside, which became costly in the winter months. During winter weather conditions, additional RIPTA mechanics were staffed to idle bus engines periodically during the night to prevent overnight freezing and ensure the reliability of early morning service. The additional bus storage eliminated the need for this practice, thus saving RIPTA thousands on the costs of fuel and labor.

Transportation Building Solar Roof Project
During FY 2013, RIPTA completed the Roof Replacement/Solar Panel project at the Transportation Building located at 269 Melrose Street in Providence. The agency installed 1130 roof-mounted solar panels. Funds for the project are a combination of Federal ARRA funds, a competitive Federal grant for green investments, funds from the Attorney General’s settlement of an environmental lawsuit, and RIPTA revolving loan funds. In addition to producing solar power, RIPTA will add natural light in this building where there currently is none, such as the restrooms and the drivers’ lounge. The agency expects to earn $55,000 annually as a producer of solar energy.

SERVICE IMPROVEMENTS

R-Line Rapid Bus Route With the implementation of the R-Line in FY 2014, RIPTA is committed to operating a bus route that is more user-friendly and more environmentally friendly. At each of the 25 shelters installed along this route, lighting will be installed to create a safer waiting environment for passengers. This lighting will be powered only from solar panels and will not rely on the electrical grid for power. In addition, Transit Signal Priority (TSP) has been installed at more than 60 locations along this route. TSP technology will enable RIPTA buses to operate more efficiently with reduced idling at intersections. TSP will enable RIPTA to offer comparable service to what is already offered with fewer buses, therefore reducing the environmental impact of this route.

Copy link