警告: 由于当前的COVID-19公共卫生危机,许多RIPTA办事处和运输中心都关闭了。 详细>>

纽波特港务中心

纽波特盖特威中心

Newport Gateway中心外部维修和弹性项目的目的是为每年通过Newport America Cup大道的Newport Gateway多式联运和旅游设施的数十万人恢复日常管理。 该项目还旨在使该结构对未来的风暴更具弹性。 多年来,该设施的特征是顶篷顶峰,旨在复制帆的航海外观。 2012年XNUMX月,当罗德岛南部海岸的大部分遭到桑迪飓风袭击时,大部分檐篷被摧毁。 该项目还将确保交通中心完全可及,并符合联邦ADA法规。

1-9-17:Newport Gateway Center临时巴士站地图

更新(2016年XNUMX月)– 了解方案

九月2016:

网关中心最新设计稿发布

RIPTA和纽波特市发布了该项目的最新设计草案,该草案将修复和提高纽波特门户游客信息和运输中心(RIPTA的主要交通枢纽之一和区域游客中心)的抗灾能力。

该设施是居民和游客的避震中心,在2012年飓风桑迪期间遭受了严重的外部破坏。自那时以来,RIPTA获得了联邦资助,不仅可以维修门户中心,还可以使其对未来的风暴更具韧性。联邦资金将支付约90万美元项目的6%,没有纽波特市的支持,这是不可能的。纽波特市提供了10%的对等资金。

自获得资金以来的几个月中,RIPTA一直在与城市,社区居民及其顾问合作,将新的土壤和结构测试纳入计划中,并获得市议会建筑审查委员会的反馈。 运输当局很高兴拥有东北合作建筑师事务所,在罗得岛州纽波特市设有办事处,领导一支团队,专门解决联邦,州和当地在设计方面的利益,例如排水,绿色基础设施,可持续性,建筑细节和标牌设计乘客和访客。

起草的设计符合《美国残疾人法》(ADA)的要求,包括高架天窗,行人安全设施,改进的指示牌和出租车等候,以及环境可持续性元素,例如“雨水花园”,以帮助现场收集雨水。并改善排水。

仍可以根据最终投标价格修改设计元素。

门户是夏季和秋季的热门景点,因此RIPTA的目标之一是在2016年旅游旺季期间不进行建设。 预计中标的建筑承包商将在2017年XNUMX月之前完成该项目。此进度表对中断的影响最小,并且避免了施工阶段的成本,但受冬季条件的影响。

RIPTA非常感谢纳波利塔诺市长和市议会,其建筑审查委员会,市政府的专职工作人员,州代表劳伦·卡森以及发现纽波特的团队一直以来的支持和参与。 管理局还非常感谢罗得岛州国会代表团的一贯支持,这对确保获得联邦资金很有帮助。

更新(2016年XNUMX月):

增加的联邦资金有助于推动纽波特盖特威中心的恢复工作

背景:

门户中心的外部可保护进入或离开RIPTA巴士,灵狮巴士,出租车,包车服务和旅游巴士的乘客。 此外,每天都有成千上万的游客停放汽车,并在树冠下走到游客中心,该中心由长期租户Discover Newport经营。

该门户网站于1988年开放,在2012年XNUMX月遭到桑迪飓风袭击时已经遭受磨损。在飓风期间,天幕“风帆”被狂风撕裂,洪水迫使该设施暂时关闭。 当水退去时,很明显,人行道和铺好的停车场也受到了破坏。

尽管继续使用该设施,但风暴期间遭受的损坏使Gateway设施处于不良状态。 在没有高架覆盖物保护的情况下,人行道会继续恶化,并出现凹坑,裂缝和碎裂。 2015年严冬加剧了这个问题。 本地租户Discover Newport帮助指导了设计过程,从而使维修和修复脱离了最初在社区中不普遍使用的帆/篷设计。

总体项目目标:  

  • 恢复高架旅客保护
  • 减少场地的地表径流,以最大程度地减少对纽波特下水道系统的影响,并减轻未来暴风雨中的洪水
  • 使该设施达到多式联运枢纽的行业标准,包括改善照明,标牌和其他功能,使公众更容易建立公交连接
  • 通过特别注意设计和美学,尊重设施对国家旅游业的重要性及其对当地的影响

资金: 

国会通过联邦运输管理局(FTA)提供了联邦资金,用于维修遭受桑迪飓风破坏的设施。 规定包括进行维修的要求,以提高设施对未来风暴事件的适应能力,并达到或超过风暴之前设定的设施标准。

RIPTA与Discover Newport和City of Newport合作开发了一项拨款申请,以改善Gateway Center。 RIPTA与FTA合作,以确保他们为乘客保护提供资金,这不仅可以代替现有的遮阳“风帆”,而且可以建造可以承受II级飓风的新屋顶。

最初的应用基于独立的展馆,人行道的改进以及确保ADA可访问性所需的任何升级。 在应用程序中,RIPTA通过建议使用可渗透的摊铺机以及雨水花园来解决排水问题,以保留暴风雨期间产生的部分水。

资金来自90%的联邦紧急救济基金。 纽波特市提供10%的比赛。 RIPTA是联邦基金的接收者,负责项目的实施和联邦要求的适当管理。 与纽约市和RIPTA达成的协议指出,纽约市将选择一个概念设计。 然后RIPTA将有30天的时间接受或拒绝选择。

迄今为止的进展 

秋季2014:  RIPTA使用布鲁克斯法案采购流程来签约进行建筑和工程工作。 在此过程中,由来自纽波特市,RIDOT和RIPTA的代表组成的selection选小组审查了投标人的资格。 六名竞标者竞标工作。 选择小组选择了马萨诸塞州波士顿市以外的DHK公司,该公司在翻新历史悠久的公交车站方面具有直接经验。 DHK(www.dhkinc.com)将与具有重要本地记录的分包商团队合作。 指定的工作包括对场地排水的审查,对现有雨棚的钢结构的审查,新屋顶的建筑设计,ADA符合性审查和开发以及景观设计。

春天2015:  RIPTA和纽约市成立了设计审查委员会,以对拟议的设计进行审查和评论。

积极的发展:

  • 结构钢保留了其大部分完整性,其设计承载能力远高于帆布帆。 这将允许重复使用大多数现有结构,从而节省能源和资金。
  • 场地上有足够的空间容纳新花园,可帮助保留场地上的地表径流。

问题:

  • 原始的帆布篷没有与排水系统捆绑在一起。 任何坚固到足以抵御飓风的结构都将需要排水,而纽波特的渐进式下水道规范意味着需要在现场保留尽可能多的水。 需要更多资金以增加排水沟和现场生物滞留。
  • 即使有小暴风雨,现有的道路也有积水和积水。 为了减少对下水道系统的影响,最佳做法是对道路进行改质和重新铺设坡度,将径流引向现场的雨水花园。
  • 自最初的赠款申请以来,人行道已显着恶化。

7月2015: 

设计审查委员会开会讨论优先事项和选择方案。 提出了六个概念设计。 在讨论中,确定了几个优先事项:

  • 旧的帆罩完全保护了乘客。 公交车站的独立展馆还不够。 应该恢复完全的遮阳保护,并且与补助计划的重点保持设施恢复到当前标准更加一致。
  • 减少可渗透的摊铺机的数量,因为它们在屋顶下不是特别有效。
  • 木质表面虽然具有吸引力,但与运营预算不符,并且表面应坚固且抗损坏。
  • 屋顶玻璃可能难以清洁,特别是在该地区有海鸥的情况下。
  •  与其他表面相比,可以更轻松地从砖上清除涂鸦。
  • 标牌需要改进,包括安装实时标牌,为RIPTA乘客提供到达和离开的信息。
  • 照明需要改进。

同样在XNUMX月,RIPTA就范围问题与联邦运输管理局联系。 工作人员表示,有一次机会可以从紧急救济赠款中重新分配未使用的资金。 他们要求RIPTA和纽约市提供更明确的新成本估算。 如果获得本地比赛的承诺,他们将考虑申请。

设计审查委员会根据上述优先事项审议了这些设计,并要求对其中两个设计进行更多工作。 他们还要求采用外观更符合历史的第三种设计。

八月2015更新

纽波特市议会收到有关项目概念的演讲。 理事会对项目的成本,范围和设计表示严重关注。 但是,理事会有兴趣寻求机会,以90%的联邦拨款资助昂贵的结构性问题(例如铺路和人行道)。

理事会决定通过承诺拨款来支持联邦申请,并要求有更多机会获得有关概念设计的本地反馈。

9月2015更新

RIPTA通过与各种利益相关者合作,为该项目的概念设计寻求更多投入。 目的是向公众提供信息,获取反馈,并使我们朝着纽约市支持的概念设计前进,同时反映出拨款计划的维修/弹性限制。 一个公共论坛将于15月6日下午30:XNUMX在纽波特门户举行。 鼓励有兴趣的各方向 规划@ripta.com.

复制链接

ALERT: RIPTA Service to Run Holiday Schedule in Observance of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day on Monday, January 18, 2021 Details >>

ALERT: Winter Schedule Changes Effective January 16, 2021 Details >>

Newport Gateway Center

NEWPORT GATEWAY CENTER

The purpose of the Newport Gateway Center Exterior Repair and Resiliency Project is to restore overhead protection for the hundreds of thousands of people who each year pass through the Newport Gateway intermodal transit and tourist facility on America’s Cup Avenue in Newport.  The project is also intended to make the structure more resilient to future storms.  For years, the facility featured a peaked canopy which was intended to replicate the nautical look of sails.  Most of that canopy was destroyed in October 2012 when much of Rhode Island’s southern coast was buffeted by Hurricane Sandy. The project will also ensure that the transportation center is fully accessible and in compliance with Federal ADA regulations.

1-9-17: Newport Gateway Center Temporary Bus Stop Map

UPDATE (December 2016) – Click Here

September 2016:

Latest Design Drafts of Gateway Center Released

RIPTA and the City of Newport release the latest design drafts for the project that will repair and improve the storm resiliency of the Newport Gateway Visitors Information and Transportation Center – one of RIPTA’s major transit hubs and a regional visitors’ center.

The facility, which is an epicenter for residents and tourists alike, sustained substantial exterior damage during Hurricane Sandy in 2012.  Since then, RIPTA has been awarded federal funding to not only repair the Gateway Center but also make it more resilient to future storms  While the federal funds will cover 90-percent of the roughly $6 million project, it would not be possible without the support of the City of Newport which is providing the 10-percent matching local funds.

In the months since funding was secured, RIPTA has been working with the city, community residents and its consultants to incorporate new soil and structural testing into the plans as well as feedback from the City Council’s Architectural Review Committee.  The transit authority is pleased to have Northeast Collaborative Architects, with offices in Newport, RI, leading a team that has the expertise to address federal, state and local interests in design specifics such as drainage, green infrastructure, sustainability, architectural detail and signage for passengers and visitors.

The design as drafted is compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and includes raised roofline cupolas, pedestrian safety features, improved signage and a taxi waiting, and environmentally sustainable elements such as a “rain garden” to help collect storm water onsite and improve drainage.

Design elements may still be modified based on final bid prices.

The Gateway is a popular summer and fall attraction, so one of RIPTA’s goals is to not have construction during the 2016 tourist season.  The successful bidder for the construction contractor will be expected to complete the project by June 2017.  This schedule causes the least disruption and avoids the cost of construction phasing, but is subject to winter conditions.

RIPTA is grateful for the ongoing support and hands-on involvement of Mayor Napolitano and the City Council, its Architectural Review Committee, the City’s dedicated staff, State Representative Lauren Carson, and the team at Discover Newport.  The Authority is also very grateful for the continued support of Rhode Island’s Congressional Delegation which was instrumental in securing the federal funding.

UPDATE (May 2016):

Increased Federal Funds Help Fuel Expand Restoration Work At Newport Gateway Center

Background:

The exterior of the Gateway Center protects passengers entering or exiting RIPTA buses, Greyhound buses, taxis, charter bus services, and tour buses.  In addition, thousands of visitors park their cars and walk under the canopy to the visitor center daily, which is operated by long-term tenant Discover Newport.

Opened in 1988, the Gateway was already suffering from wear and tear when it was hit by Hurricane Sandy in October 2012.  During the hurricane, the canopy “sails” were ripped by high winds and flood waters forced the temporary closure of the facility.  When the water receded, it became apparent that damage was also done to the sidewalks and paved parking areas.

Although the facility continues to be used, the damage suffered during the storm left the Gateway facility in poor condition.  Without the protection of overhead covering, the sidewalks continue to deteriorate and are pitted, cracked and crumbling.  The severe winter of 2015 exacerbated this problem.  Discover Newport, the local tenant, helped guide the design process so that the repair and restoration would move away from the original sail/canopy design which had not been universally popular with the community.

General Project Goals:  

  • Restore overhead  passenger protection
  • Reduce surface runoff from the site in order to minimize the impact on Newport’s sewer system and also to mitigate flooding in future storms
  • Bring the facility up to industry standards for an intermodal hub  –  including improvements in lighting, signage and other features that will make it easier for the public to make their transit connections
  • Respect the facility’s importance to the State’s tourism industry and its local impact by giving special attention to design and aesthetics

Funding: 

Congress made federal funds available through the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) to repair facilities damaged by Hurricane Sandy.  Stipulations include a requirement that repairs improve the resiliency of the facility to future storm events and meet or exceed the standard of the facility set prior to the storm.

RIPTA partnered with Discover Newport and the City of Newport to develop a grant application for improvements to the Gateway Center.   RIPTA worked with the FTA to ensure that they would fund passenger protection that would not simply replace existing shade “sails” but instead create new roofs that can withstand Category II hurricane winds.

The initial application was based on stand-alone pavilions, sidewalk improvements, and any upgrades needed to ensure ADA accessibility.  In the application, RIPTA addressed drainage issues by proposing permeable pavers as well as rain gardens as a way to retain some of the water generated during storm events.

Funding is 90% Federal Emergency Relief Funds.  A 10% match is being provided by the City of Newport.  RIPTA is the recipient of the Federal Funds and responsible for implementation of the project and appropriate management of federal requirements.  The agreement with the City and RIPTA states that the City will select a conceptual design.  RIPTA will then have 30 days to accept or reject the selection.

Progress to Date 

Fall 2014:  RIPTA used a Brooks Act Procurement process to contract for an architectural and engineering work.  Under this process, a selection team with representatives from the City of Newport, RIDOT, and RIPTA reviewed the bidders’ qualifications.  Six bidders vied for the work.  The selection team chose DHK, a firm out of Boston, MA, with direct experience in retrofitting historic transit stations. DHK (www.dhkinc.com)   will be working with a team of subcontractors with significant local track record. Work specified to include review of the site’s drainage, a structural review of the steel holding the existing canopy, architectural design of a new roof, ADA compliance review and development, and landscape design.

Spring 2015:  RIPTA and the City developed a Design Review Committee to review and comment on proposed design.

Positive developments:

  • Structural steel retains most of its integrity and was designed for a much higher load-bearing capacity than it holds with the canvas sails.  This will allow the reuse of most of the existing structure, saving energy and money.
  • There is plenty of room on site for new gardens that can help retain surface runoff on site.

Issues:

  • The original canvas canopy was not tied into a drainage system.  Any structure strong enough to stand up against hurricane force winds will require drains and Newport’s progressive sewer codes mean that as much water as possible needs to be retained on site.  Additional funds are needed to add drains and bio-retention on site.
  • The existing roadway has pooling and standing water after even minor storms.  To reduce the impact on the sewer system, the best practice is to regrade and repave the roadway, directing runoff to rain gardens on site.
  • The walkways have deteriorated significantly in the time since the original grant application.

July 2015: 

The Design Review Committee met to discuss priorities and options.  Six conceptual designs were presented.  During discussion, several priorities were established:

  • The old sail coverings completely protected passengers.  Stand alone pavilions at bus stops are not adequate.  Complete shade protection should be restored, and is more in keeping with the emphasis of the grant program on bringing the facility back to current standards.
  • Reduce the amount of permeable pavers as they are not particularly effective under a roof.
  • Wood surfaces, while attractive, are not compatible with the operating budget and surfaces should be sturdy and resistant to damage.
  • Rooftop glass may be difficult to clean, particularly with seagulls in the area.
  •  Graffiti can be removed more easily from brick than other surfaces.
  • Signage needs to be improved, including the installation of real-time signs to provide arrival and departure information for RIPTA passengers.
  • Lighting needs improvement.

Also in July, RIPTA approached the Federal Transit Administration regarding scope issues.  Staff indicated that there is a one-time opportunity to reallocate unused funds from the Emergency Relief Grant.  They asked RIPTA and the City to provide new, better-defined cost estimates.  If a commitment for local match is obtained they will consider the application.

The Design Review Committee considered the designs against the priorities above and asked for additional work on two of the designs.  They also asked for a third design with a more historically appropriate look.

August 2015 Update

The Newport City Council received a presentation on the project concepts. The Council expressed significant concern about the cost, scope and design of the project.   However, the Council was interested in pursuing the opportunity to fund costly structural problems (such as paving and sidewalks) with a 90-percent federal grant.

The Council decided to support the federal application by committing funds and also asked for additional opportunity to get local feedback on the conceptual design.

September 2015 Update

RIPTA is pursuing additional input into the conceptual design of the project by engaging with a variety of stakeholders.  The objective is to provide information to the public, obtain feedback, and move us towards a conceptual design that the City supports while reflecting the repair/resiliency limits of the grant program.  A public forum will be held on October 15 at the Newport Gateway at 6:30 PM. Interested parties are encouraged to submit comments to planning@ripta.com.

Copy link