警告: 由于当前的COVID-19公共卫生危机,许多RIPTA办事处和运输中心都关闭了。 详细>>

RIPTA削减了可再生能源太阳能农场的成本

项目从东普罗维登斯海滨地区挖掘能源项目从东普罗维登斯海滨地区获取能源

罗德岛公共交通管理局(RIPTA)今天宣布,它很荣幸能成为一项合作绿色能源项目的一部分,该项目可以利用位于东普罗维登斯海滨地带的太阳能装置提供的能源抵免,节省电费成本。 根据与Kearsarge能源公司达成的远程净能源协议,RIPTA将获得Kearsarge在东普罗维登斯州德克斯特路原油库场址上建造的6,000多块面板太阳能装置产生的电力的信用。 RIPTA官员估计,从Kearsarge购买能源信用将每年为运输当局节省至少250,000万美元的电费。

RIPTA首席执行官Scott Avedisian表示:“该项目在许多方面都是一个胜利。” “我们正在省钱,我们正在使用可持续的清洁能源,而且我们正在开发一座太阳能农场,为需要整治的海滨物业带来了新的生机。 随着我们努力增加更多的零排放电动公交车,我们知道它们将需要充电基础设施,并且寻找经济和环保的能源变得越来越重要。”

 州长丹尼尔·麦基(Daniel McKee)表示:“利用零排放,可持续能源的项目是我们州的当务之急,我们对清洁空气质量的承诺也是如此。” “这项合作努力将帮助我们朝着目标迈进,并在此过程中使纳税人受益。”

东普罗维登斯(East Providence)官员说,在约XNUMX英亩的德克斯特路地块上建设太阳能装置,对社区和国家都具有财政和环境效益。 现场产生的太阳能意味着罗得岛州使用的电力所产生的碳排放量减少,并为该市增加了新的税收收入。 此外,Kearsarge还从罗德岛商业公司(Rhode Island Commerce Corporation)获得了Brownfield Solar Grant,以帮助减轻因先前的使用而减少财产剩余污染的费用。 如果将来将太阳能场退役,则该物业将是干净的,并准备进行适当的开发。  

市长鲍勃·达西尔瓦(Bob DaSilva)说:“纽约市很高兴与RIPTA,海滨委员会和Kearsarge Solar合作。” “这是我们城市的第二个太阳能项目, 

不仅已经从环境中清除了数百万磅的二氧化碳,而且还创造了数十个就业机会。”现在,该太阳能项目将为数百个家庭提供足够的能源,并为纽约市提供有形的财产和财产。税收–这是双赢的局面。”达西尔瓦(DaSilva)补充说。 

“我们很高兴与Kearsarge Solar,东普罗维登斯市和RIPTA一起为所有人赢得这一清洁能源,”东普罗维登斯海滨委员会执行董事克里斯·马丁说。 “由于海滨委员会简化了审查和决策流程,该项目从申请到实施不到一年。该棕地的开垦是朝着未来负责任的开发和通往东普罗维登斯海滨地区的迈出的积极一步。”  

总部位于波士顿并在罗德岛设有办事处的Kearsarge大约在一年前向东普罗维登斯市和东普罗维登斯海滨委员会提议了东普罗维登斯的太阳能装置。 该设施于去年XNUMX月完成建设,当时该设施与National Grid一起上线了。 Kearsarge有许多可再生能源项目,主要在东北,包括罗得岛州的南金斯敦太阳能财团。

Kearsarge Energy的执行合伙人安德鲁·伯恩斯坦(Andrew Bernstein)说:“该项目是公私合营的一个很好的例子。 我们能够租赁以前未得到充分利用的房地产,并建设一种清洁能源,为未来20至30年的RIPTA提供优惠的能源抵免额,并为East Providence提供税收。” “该项目很好地说明了国家在许可棕地和提供赠款方面的紧密协调,与东普罗维登斯和历史滨水区的地方许可,以及RIPTA购买能源信用的协议共同使该项目取得了成功。对于所有参与的人。”

RIPTA官员说,国家能源资源办公室(OER)是宝贵的资源,它协助运输当局制定了一项符合各方最大利益的净能源提案。 

国家能源专员Nicholas Ucci说:“ RIPTA建立在为其运营和运输客户采用更清洁,更具可持续性的能源解决方案的记录上。” “结合其电动公交车试点项目和在公交车上安装太阳能电池板,RIPTA在这个最新的零排放能源项目中继续以身作则。 OER赞扬其对清洁能源的承诺,特别是在罗得岛州致力于减少其经济范围内的温室气体排放并支持当地就业和投资时。” 

该虚拟净计量项目允许RIPTA获得异地可再生能源信用,这是根据该州的净计量法提供的。 根据Kearsarge的说法,从东普罗维登斯工厂生产的清洁能源将在62,000年内节省约25吨的碳排放量-相当于保护约73,000英亩的林地。

复制链接

ALERT: Due to the current COVID-19 public health crisis, many RIPTA Offices and transit centers are closed. Details >>

RIPTA CUTS COSTS WITH RENEWABLE ENERGY SOLAR FARM COLLABORATION

Project Taps Energy from East Providence Waterfront SiteProject Taps Energy from East Providence Waterfront Site

The Rhode Island Public Transit Authority  (RIPTA) announced today that it is proud to be part of a collaborative green energy project that allows it to save money on electric costs with energy credits from a solar installation located on a waterfront site in East Providence.  Under a remote net energy agreement with Kearsarge Energy, RIPTA will receive credit for power generated by a 6,000-plus panel solar installation that Kearsarge constructed on the site of a former tank farm on Dexter Road in East Providence.  RIPTA officials estimate that purchasing the energy credits from Kearsarge will save the transit authority at least $250,000 a year in electricity costs.

“This project is a win on many levels,” said Scott Avedisian, RIPTA’s Chief Executive Officer. “We are saving money, we are using sustainable clean energy, and we are tapping into a solar farm that brought new life to waterfront property that needed remediation. As we move toward adding more zero-emission electric buses, we know that they will need charging infrastructure and that finding economical and eco-friendly energy sources is of increasing importance.”

 “Projects that utilize zero-emission, sustainable energy are a priority in our state, as is our commitment to cleaner air quality,” said Governor Daniel McKee.  “This collaborative effort helps us move toward our goals and benefits taxpayers in the process.”

East Providence officials said that the construction of the solar installation on the approximately nine-acre Dexter Road parcel has both fiscal and environmental benefits for the community and for the state.  The solar power generated on site means less carbon emissions from electricity used in Rhode Island and new tax revenue for the city.  In addition, Kearsarge has obtained a Brownfield Solar Grant from the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation to help cover the cost of mitigating any contamination remaining on the property from prior uses.  If the solar field is decommissioned in the future, the property will be clean and ready for appropriate development.  

“The City is thrilled to have collaborated with RIPTA, the Waterfront Commission and Kearsarge Solar,”  Mayor Bob DaSilva said. “This solar project, the second in our city, 

has not only removed millions of pounds of CO2 from the environment, but it has also produced dozens of job opportunities.”Now that it is completed, the solar project will produce enough energy for hundreds of homes and will provide the City with tangible and property tax revenue – it’s a win-win,” DaSilva added. 

“We are excited to work with Kearsarge Solar, the City of East Providence and RIPTA on this clean energy win for everyone,” Chris Martin, Executive Director of the East Providence Waterfront Commission, said.  “This project went from application to implementation in under a year because of the Waterfront Commission’s streamlined review and decision process.The reclamation of this brownfield site is a positive step towards future responsible development and access to East Providence’s waterfront.”  

Kearsarge, which is based in Boston and has offices in Rhode Island, proposed the East Providence solar installation about a year ago to the City of East Providence and the East Providence Waterfront Commission. Construction was completed this past December when the facility went online with National Grid.  Kearsarge has numerous renewable energy projects, primarily in the Northeast, including the South Kingstown Solar Consortium in Rhode Island.

Andrew Bernstein, Managing Partner of Kearsarge Energy, said, “This project is a great example of a public-private partnership. We were able to lease formerly underutilized real estate and build a clean energy resource that will provide discounted energy credits for RIPTA as well as taxes for East Providence for the next 20 to 30 years,” he said. “This project is an excellent example of how close coordination by the State in permitting a brownfield and providing a grant, local permitting with East Providence and the Historical Waterfront District, and RIPTA’s agreement to buy the energy credits came together to make this a successful project for all involved.”

RIPTA officials said that the state Office of Energy Resources (OER) was a valuable resource and assisted the transit authority in putting together a net energy proposal that was in the best interest of all parties. 

“RIPTA is building on its record of adopting cleaner, more sustainable energy solutions for its operations and transit customers,” said State Energy Commissioner Nicholas Ucci. “Coupled with its electric bus pilot project and installing solar panels on buses, RIPTA continues to lead by example with this latest zero-emission energy project. OER applauds its its commitment to cleaner energy sources, particularly as Rhode Island works to reduce its economy-wide greenhouse gas emissions and support local jobs and investment.” 

This virtual net metering project, which allows RIPTA to acquire off-site renewable energy credits, is provided for under the state’s net metering law. According to Kearsarge, the clean energy produced from the East Providence site will save about 62,000 tons in carbon emissions over 25 years – the equivalent of preserving approximately 73,000 acres of forested land.

Copy link