警告: 由于当前的COVID-19公共卫生危机,许多RIPTA办事处和运输中心都关闭了。 详细>>

鼓励 RIPTA 乘客参与机上乘客调查以收集重要旅行数据

24年2021月XNUMX日

调查人员收集的数据将帮助 RIPTA 更好地为乘客服务并收集有关罗德岛公共交通使用的重要旅行信息 

 罗德岛公共交通管理局 (RIPTA) 将于下周启动一项车载乘客调查,因为它致力于收集详细数据,以帮助交通管理局改善当前的服务并规划最能满足公众需求的未来路线。 RIPTA 正在要求乘客与将乘坐各种路线的调查员合作,并向一些乘客询问有关他们的旅行习惯和一些个人信息的详细问题。 RIPTA 官员指出,一些人口统计问题——包括种族、家庭收入和语言能力——是为了帮助运输当局遵守《民权法案》第六章。 乘客可以放心,在汇总调查结果时,所有个人信息都会被删除。

“我认为让人们记住,调查的主要功能之一是确保我们为公众提供最好的服务,这一点很重要,”RIPTA 的首席执行官 Scott Avedisian 说。 “这意味着在人们需要和想去的地方提供服务,并确保我们的服务是公平的。 完成调查大约需要五到七分钟,但这些数据将在未来几年为我们服务。 我要提前感谢我们的乘客帮助我们完成这个重要项目。”

RIPTA 通常每五年进行一次深入的乘客调查,最后一次于 2016 年进行。  

 该调查将由堪萨斯州 ETC 研究所进行,所有调查人员都将易于识别,穿着黄色背心并佩戴官方测量员徽章。 他们将配备平板电脑,绝不会询问某人的社会安全号码或银行账户信息等信息。 为鼓励参与,参加调查的乘客将有机会赢取价值 70 美元的奖励,将其添加到他们的 Wave 智能卡或移动应用程序中,以便在 RIPTA 上旅行。

从 27 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日星期一到 XNUMX 月中旬,测量员将乘坐 RIPTA 巴士。 参与者是随机选择的,如果在接下来的几个月中选择了两次乘客,他们每次都会被要求参与。 部分航线将提供会说英语和西班牙语的双语工作人员; 必要时,会说其他语言的乘客将有机会稍后通过电话用他们的母语完成调查。 在一些较长的路线上,调查人员可能会分发纸质调查,要求选定的参与者在下船前完成。

基于调查结果的公开报告将于 2022 年提供,一些数据将与罗德岛州全州规划部门共享,以协助其对该州的旅行模式进行持续建模。 如需更多信息,包括常见问题列表,请访问 https://www.ripta.com/ridersurvey/.

通过分享
复制链接

ALERT: RIPTA’S Summer Service Changes To Take Effect Saturday, June 18, 2022 Details >>

ALERT: Due to the current COVID-19 public health crisis, many RIPTA Offices and transit centers are closed. Details >>

RIPTA Passengers Encouraged to Participate in Onboard Passenger Survey to Gather Important Travel Data

September 24, 2021

Press Releases

Data Collected by Survey Staff Will Help RIPTA Better Serve Passengers and Gather Important Travel Information About Public Transit Use in Rhode Island 

 The Rhode Island Public Transit Authority (RIPTA) is launching an onboard passenger survey next week as it works to gather detailed data to help the transit authority improve current service and plan future routes that best meet the public’s needs.   RIPTA is asking passengers to cooperate with survey takers who will be riding a variety of routes and asking some passengers detailed questions about their travel habits and some personal information as well.  RIPTA officials noted that some of the demographic questions – including race, household income, and language proficiency – are asked in order to help the transit authority comply with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act. Passengers can be assured that all personal information is removed when the survey results are aggregated.

“I think it’s important for people to remember that one of the main functions of the survey is to make sure that we are best serving the public,” said Scott Avedisian, RIPTA’s Chief Executive Officer.  “That means providing service where people need and want to go, and also making sure that our services are equitable.  It takes about five to seven minutes to complete the survey, but this data will serve us for years to come.   I want to thank our passengers in advance for helping us with this important project.”

RIPTA typically conducts an in-depth passenger survey every five years, with the last one conducted in 2016.  

 The survey will be conducted by ETC Institute of Kansas and all survey staff will be easily identifiable, wearing yellow vests and official surveyor badges. They will be equipped with tablet computers and will never ask for information such as someone’s social security number or bank account information. To encourage participation, passengers who take the survey will be given an opportunity to win a prize of $70 of value added to their Wave smart card or mobile app for travel on RIPTA.

Surveyors will be on RIPTA buses from Monday, September 27, 2021, through mid-November.   Participants are selected at random, and if a passenger is chosen twice over the next couple of months, they are asked to participate each time.   Bilingual staff who speak English and Spanish will be available on some routes;  when necessary, passengers who speak other languages will be given an opportunity to complete the survey later by phone in their native language.  On some of the longer routes, survey staff may distribute paper surveys that selected participants will be asked to complete before they disembark.

A public report based on the survey findings will be available in 2022 and some data will be shared with the Rhode Island Division of Statewide Planning to assist with its ongoing modeling of travel patterns in the State.   For more information, including a list of Frequently Asked Questions, please visit https://www.ripta.com/ridersurvey/.

Share via
Copy link