警告: 由于当前的COVID-19公共卫生危机,许多RIPTA办事处和运输中心都关闭了。 详细>>

RIPTA感谢主教教区并赞扬海滩班车试点的社区合作伙伴

八月 13, 2021

罗德岛公共交通管理局 (RIPTA) 的官员昨天在纽波特感谢社区团体,他们在倡导今年夏天启动的免费海滩班车试点计划方面发挥了重要作用。 RIPTA 的首席执行官 Scott Avedisian 说,他要特别感谢罗德岛主教教区最近挺身而出帮助支持该计划。

他指出,纽约市的圣公会教堂——纽波特三位一体教堂、纽波特伊曼纽尔教堂和圣约翰福音传教士教堂——已经为纽波特人民服务了总共 649 年。 “今天,”他说,“他们正在以一种新的方式服事——让所有人都能接触到罗德岛海岸的美景。” Avedisian 还称赞纽波特市长 Jeanne-Marie Napolitano “始终是纽波特所有居民的拥护者”。

Avedisian 感谢 Episcopal Bishop the Right Reverend W. Nicholas Knisely 在支持试点计划方面的远见卓识,并感谢他采取了不寻常的步骤,建立了教会-交通合作。 “这是一种独特而令人兴奋的合作伙伴关系,”他说。

RIPTA 决定推出免费的周末班车服务,以回应一些居民的担忧,因为他们担心一些居民仅仅因为没有交通工具而无法进入他们住得如此近的天然海滩资源。

在周五的简短新闻发布会上,Knisely 主教表示,提供平等的海滩机会是影响人们生活质量的重要公平问题。 Newport Health Equity Zone 市长 Napolitano 和 Natalie Harris 都指出,有许多当地居民因为无法到达那里而没有在海滩度过夏日。 “谢谢你听我们说话,”哈里斯说。

出席会议的还有其他社区团体,它们帮助倡导居民更好地进入海滩:Bike Newport、Newport Mental Health 和 Clean Ocean Access。

班车试点计划于 19 月 27 日开始,将持续到 2021 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日。它通过在周末和节假日提供上午和下午的旅行,将纽波特北部的社区与当地海滩连接起来。

有关该计划的更多信息,请访问 RIPTA.com/beachshuttle.

通过分享
复制链接

ALERT: Due to the current COVID-19 public health crisis, many RIPTA Offices and transit centers are closed. Details >>

RIPTA THANKS EPISCOPAL DIOCESE AND PRAISES COMMUNITY PARTNERS ON BEACH SHUTTLE PILOT

August 13, 2021

Press Releases

Officials from the Rhode Island Public Transit Authority (RIPTA) were in Newport yesterday to thank the community groups that were instrumental in advocating for the free beach shuttle pilot program that launched this summer. Scott Avedisian, RIPTA’s Chief Executive Officer, said that he wanted to especially thank the Episcopal Diocese of Rhode Island which recently stepped forward to help support the program.

He noted that the City’s Episcopal churches – Trinity of Newport, Emmanuel of Newport, and St. John the Evangelist on the Point – have ministered to the people of Newport for a total of 649 years. “Today,” he said, “they are ministering in a new way – by bringing access to the beauty of Rhode Island’s shore to all.” Avedisian also credited Newport Mayor Jeanne-Marie Napolitano for “always being a champion of all residents of Newport.”

Avedisian thanked Episcopal Bishop the Right Reverend W. Nicholas Knisely for his vision in supporting the pilot program and also for taking the unusual step of creating a church-transit collaboration. “This is a unique and exciting partnership,” he said.

RIPTA decided to launch the free, weekend shuttle service in response to concerns about some residents being precluded from accessing the natural beach resources they live so close to simply because they do not have transportation.

Speaking at Friday’s brief press event, Bishop Knisely said that providing equal access to the beaches is an important equity issue that affects people’s quality of life. Both Mayor Napolitano and Natalie Harris of the Newport Health Equity Zone noted that there are many local residents who have not had a summer day at the beach because they can’t get there. “Thank you for listening to us,” Harris said.

Also in attendance were other community groups that have helped advocate for better beach access for residents: Bike Newport, Newport Mental Health, and Clean Ocean Access.

The shuttle pilot program began on June 19 and will run through August 27, 2021. It connects neighborhoods in northern Newport with local beaches by providing morning and afternoon trips on weekends and holidays.

For more information on the program, please visit RIPTA.com/beachshuttle.

Share via
Copy link